Author Topic: Copying data from one NAS to another  (Read 3601 times)

Paul.Ferrari

• Calf
Copying data from one NAS to another
« on: August 12, 2019, 10:28:59 AM »
I am a relative newbie, so apologies if I'm asking a dumb question - and I have searched using GOOGLE and though the Forum too but I can't find a similar question.

I have an existing LS-CHL-V2 LinkStation (which I have SSH access to) which has around 850 GB of files stored on it.  I have recently purchased a LS 220 D (no SSH access yet) and I wish to move the files from my Original LinkStation across onto my new LinkStation.

So obviously if I do this from my PC it routes all the files through my PC - not very efficient - so I thought is it possible to mount the share from one of the LinkStations onto the other and just use the UNIX cp command ?

I have looked up mounting SAMBA Shares and tried using the mount command but to no avail :

> mount -t smbfs -o username=admin,password=**** //192.168.0.215/MySharedFolder /mnt/test

I get an error that says "mounting //192.168.0.215/MySharedFolder on /mnt/test failed: No such device" - I have created the /mnt/test folder and I am logged in as root.

I know the server I am logged in as can see the other LinkStation, as I can use the command

> smbclient -L 192.168.0.215 -U admin

and the Shares are all shown, including the "MySharedFolder".

So I have two questions really :

1. Is it actaully possible to do what I'm trying to do ?  Can you mount the share from one NAS onto another ?
2. How do I get SSH Access to my new LS 220 D ?  I have tried ACP Commander (Ver. 1.5.6.0) and it says that it's successful, but I just can't connect using PUTTY.

Thanks in advance for any help.

P.

• Debian Wizard
  • Big Bull
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Copying data from one NAS to another
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 11:39:49 AM »