Author Topic: Navigator showing Emergency Mode  (Read 445 times)

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« on: August 11, 2019, 11:30:53 pm »
my Linkstation Live LS-CHL-V2 series LS-CH1.0TL is showing Emergency Mode in NAS Navigator. Light is solid blue. Several restarts have not worked. Any advice appreciated. Thank you.

As3nd0r

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2019, 05:24:40 am »
You will need to reinstall the firmware using the firmware updater to resolve this.
Aspirat primo Fortuna labori
Me duce tutus eris

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 09:58:02 pm »
I downloaded the zip file. My linkstation is hard wired to my laptop. The IP addressed don't match. How do I fix that? Thanks.

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2019, 08:52:28 am »
The LinkStation should be attached to your router or a switch so that it can get an IP address via DHCP.

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2019, 07:08:29 pm »
Sorry but you are speaking greek to me. My router is in the deep dark recesses of the basement mostly inaccessible.

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #5 on: August 15, 2019, 08:50:44 am »
How is the computer attached to the internet? Wireless?

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #6 on: August 15, 2019, 07:24:24 pm »
It is connected to my computer with a cable

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2019, 08:51:46 am »
OK, do you mean the NAS is connected to the computer with a cable, or is the computer connected to the internet with a cable? If it's the latter, what is the other end of that cable connected to? How is the NAS connected to the computer?

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2019, 11:07:46 am »
Sorry I misread your original question. The linkstation is wired to my laptop which is wirelessly connected to the internet which is provided via a router in the scary basement!

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2019, 11:52:03 am »
OK, so, what's the IP address of the wired network card in your laptop? To check, open a command prompt or powershell and type in "ipconfig" and hit enter. Look for an entry like "ethernet adapter" (not wireless). It should list the address, something 169.254.50.38.

Next, does NAS Navigator show an IP address for the Linkstation? if so, what is it?

TanyaMc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #10 on: August 24, 2019, 09:22:34 pm »
I am going to attempt plugging the linkstation directly into the router. The wifi is password protected. Is that going to cause a problem for me?

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 792
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Navigator showing Emergency Mode
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2019, 09:08:04 am »
It shouldn't. This setup should allow it to work fine.