Author Topic: PASSWORD RESET FOR TS-QVH  (Read 3166 times)

Flavasupreme

• Calf
PASSWORD RESET FOR TS-QVH
« on: July 08, 2019, 12:34:19 PM »
Hey Everyone,  I am having some login issues with (well we, ME AND my boss) the TS-QVH4.0

a previous employee had changed the password on the admin. and the only access we have is "as a user"

now I stumbled on the POST http://forums.buffalotech.com/index.php?topic=18348.msg73562#msg73562"

factory reset to default for the TS54000D

I FOLLOWED EVERY STEP that you posted but up until "Right click title bar > debug", it didn't give me an option to do it.

it, however, helped me to update the firmware which we have been trying to do for the longest.

is there any other way? because I think I have tried everything. (operative word try). I am still kinda new to this technical level of raid)

Also in trying to do things, this happened (well before trying your way)

PS. I ALSO CONTACTED BUFFALO AND THEY REFERRED ME TO HERE. TO SEE IF THERE IS A WORK AROUND

THANK YOU IN ADVANCE..

Eastmarch

• 1500 Lb Water Buffalo
  • Administrator
Re: PASSWORD RESET FOR TS-QVH
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2019, 04:23:18 PM »
Debug options may not be available in this unit's firmware - it's not supported by engineering and this has an i386 processor, so it uses a different boot method.

Resetting the password isn't designed to be easy, I'm afraid. You can do a wipe reinstall on these with a reinstall key, and that of course clears passwords, but you'd have to restore data from backup.
**A single copy of data, even on a RAID array, is NOT a backup! Hard drive failure is not a question of IF, but WHEN! Don't take my word for it, take Google's!**

Flavasupreme

• Calf
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2019, 08:44:59 AM »
@Eastmarch

Is there a link that could show me how to do this?

• Debian Wizard
  • Big Bull
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2019, 11:12:08 PM »