Author Topic: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU  (Read 1322 times)

gwb90

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« on: February 07, 2012, 06:52:49 am »

hi forum,

 

hope you can help, have the above device attahced our network. yesterday i was copying files to our server and the device droppped off.

a visual check and drives  2 + 3 have amber/red lights. our IT company have looked at it and said it will have to go to a Data - recover centre.

 

i find it unusual that 2 drives have gone at the same time and in my 18years experience in IT i have never saw this. The device has 4x3tb drives

and i am wonder if anyone else has any experience of this and a solution that doesnt involve a lot of money.

 

could it be the firm ware or a controller that has gone wrong and not the actual drives gone bust?

 

its only 5months old and i am sure buffalo will replace the device but that doesnt solve my issue of gatting the data back.

 

thanks in advance.

gordon


gwb90

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2012, 05:48:16 am »

thanks for the reply.

 

can someone from buffalo confirm that if i were to buy another unti (same model etc.) and switched over the drives 1-1 2-2 3-3 4-4

 

as far as i can see that will eliminate the problem being 2faulty drives or a fault with the controller.

 

so basically we would put the current drives in the new console.

 

will the new console/controller automatically recognise the drives? and give me access to the data?

 

i contacted support and they advise me before they issue a RMA that their protocol is to attemopt to format the drives which i obviously cant dont

so its a no goer!

 

thanks for the advice.

 

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 08:42:17 am »

Yes, you can put the drives into another unit of the same model and it will recognize the drives. You will most likely have to flash the firmware after you swap the hard drives. If it still shows that those two disks have failed then you would need to use a data recovery service. I would suggest Drivesavers.com


gwb90

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2012, 08:47:13 am »

thank for responding.

 

is this a universal procedure as when i spoke to UKsupport they advised against this forum as its US based?


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2012, 08:49:51 am »

Our support is regional and they may have different policies then we do. I would recommend following the suggestions that they give you.


gwb90

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2012, 10:45:00 am »

is there a Uk based forum


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2012, 11:04:04 am »

As far as I know there is not.


gwb90

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: 12.0TB - LS-QV12TL/R5-EU
« Reply #7 on: February 10, 2012, 03:03:07 am »

is it not the same device in the UK that it is in the USA?

 

why would support advice be different?