Author Topic: Terastation Pro 2.0T - auth to samba BDC?  (Read 5482 times)

simoriah

• Calf
Terastation Pro 2.0T - auth to samba BDC?
« on: October 02, 2008, 11:51:09 AM »

I have an old samba BDC sitting at a remote office. Their BDC is running out of storage so I got this NAS to fix that. I NEED to do authentication to the domain so I can get this up and running.

First... the only DNS server address on the NAS is 10.0.1.5 ... the BDC. If I nslookup bdc.comany.com against 10.0.1.5, I get the right IP. The NAS keeps griping about not being able to do the DNS resolution during the domain join.

Next... I've synced times. I've added the nas.company.com A and PTR records. I've created a Domain Admin account on the samba domain that doesn't have any "strange" characters in it. I've created the nas computer account in the domain. I still can't get this thing to join to the domain.

I've upgraded the firmware to the lastest version... 1.27-1.17.

I'm at a loss and ready to return this thing and get something that'll do NFS so it "just works." HELP!

Paul

• Big Bull
Re: Terastation Pro 2.0T - auth to samba BDC?
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2008, 08:31:48 AM »

Try this method to authenticate

Delegate Authority Method

Sometimes, the above steps just don't work or have strange sideeffects(i.e. Download users from wrong subdomain). The usual cases arejoining a subdomain, joining a domain with a trust relationship toanother domain, and if there is a very large number of users on thedomain. The way to get around this is the "Delegate Authority to anExternal SMB Server" option.

Setup Steps

1. Under Network->Workgroup/Domain, select Workgroup and put acheckmark in the "Delegate Authority to External SMB Server", "UseWindows Domain Controller as Authentication Server", "Automatic UserRegistration", and "Authentication Shared Folder" and enter therequired information.