Author Topic: Terastation Disk Read Error  (Read 469 times)

conmbo2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Terastation Disk Read Error
« on: August 10, 2011, 09:34:54 AM »

Hi ,

 

I am receiving an error that says HD Error HD4 E23 Bad Sectors... The hard drive is faulty ... I read the manual about the Error... it does not specify If I could try to restart the Terastation... Also I included an email of the error it sent me below

 

We are using a "TeraStation Pro II TS-HTGL"

 

Thanks in advance

 

 

DISK Error Notification

 

HDD error occured

Disk(s) the error occurred:Disk 4

 

(sdd) READ sector:897282803 count:22

Disk writing error

RAID drive error will be repaired automatically.

Continuous Back-up is recommended.

?


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4783
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2011, 10:02:24 AM »
The HDD has a physical fault and so you will need to replace it.
My units: WZR-1750DHP (flashed with DDWRT), TS5200, TS-XL, LS-CHL, LS-WVL, CS-WVL, WZR-HP-AG300N, WHR-HP-G300N, WHR-G300N, WBMR-HP-GN, LS-CHL, HD-HTGL/R5, HD-HLAN, HD-QLU2, HD-PEU3, HD-HSU2, PC-P4LWAG
My opinions are my own and not that of Buffalo Technology.

conmbo2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2011, 10:49:36 AM »

Sorry for the lack of information.

 

Firmware Version is 1.20

 

Okay, I have found the replacement drive... We are running a Raid 5.... can the terastation run okay with only 3 drives... or should I keep it shut down until the new hard drive comes.

 

Thanks


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4783
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2011, 11:00:59 AM »
The array can be sustained on 3 HDD's however if you have an issue with any of the other HDD's then your data will be erased.

My advise, keep it running but ensure you have a backup just incase ;-)
My units: WZR-1750DHP (flashed with DDWRT), TS5200, TS-XL, LS-CHL, LS-WVL, CS-WVL, WZR-HP-AG300N, WHR-HP-G300N, WHR-G300N, WBMR-HP-GN, LS-CHL, HD-HTGL/R5, HD-HLAN, HD-QLU2, HD-PEU3, HD-HSU2, PC-P4LWAG
My opinions are my own and not that of Buffalo Technology.

conmbo2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2011, 11:14:43 AM »

Thanks Dave!

 

Okay so I will order the new drive, and then after I install the drive I will rebuild the array on the new drive correct?

 

Matt


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4783
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2011, 12:07:59 PM »

Yeah, once you get the new HDD insert it and reboot the nas, log onto the web admin page, a message will appear saying "An error has occured in RAID array1", click it, place a tick beside the HDD (the others will be greyed out anyways) and click "Restructure RAID array"

My units: WZR-1750DHP (flashed with DDWRT), TS5200, TS-XL, LS-CHL, LS-WVL, CS-WVL, WZR-HP-AG300N, WHR-HP-G300N, WHR-G300N, WBMR-HP-GN, LS-CHL, HD-HTGL/R5, HD-HLAN, HD-QLU2, HD-PEU3, HD-HSU2, PC-P4LWAG
My opinions are my own and not that of Buffalo Technology.

conmbo2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #6 on: August 30, 2011, 02:27:45 PM »

Hey , sorry I forgot I had this post... I have the new hard drive... you say to reboot the NAS ... what is the NAS? Some aronymn for the OS or something?

 

A 500 GB drive... how long do you think that will take to restructure

 

 

Matt


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4783
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #7 on: August 31, 2011, 03:35:58 AM »
NAS = Network Attached Storage IE The Terastation!
My units: WZR-1750DHP (flashed with DDWRT), TS5200, TS-XL, LS-CHL, LS-WVL, CS-WVL, WZR-HP-AG300N, WHR-HP-G300N, WHR-G300N, WBMR-HP-GN, LS-CHL, HD-HTGL/R5, HD-HLAN, HD-QLU2, HD-PEU3, HD-HSU2, PC-P4LWAG
My opinions are my own and not that of Buffalo Technology.

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4783
Re: Terastation Disk Read Error
« Reply #8 on: August 31, 2011, 03:36:41 AM »
The restructuring process will probably take between 12 - 16 hours.
My units: WZR-1750DHP (flashed with DDWRT), TS5200, TS-XL, LS-CHL, LS-WVL, CS-WVL, WZR-HP-AG300N, WHR-HP-G300N, WHR-G300N, WBMR-HP-GN, LS-CHL, HD-HTGL/R5, HD-HLAN, HD-QLU2, HD-PEU3, HD-HSU2, PC-P4LWAG
My opinions are my own and not that of Buffalo Technology.