Author Topic: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo  (Read 5594 times)

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #15 on: January 18, 2009, 09:46:31 am »
   Anyone?  Anyone?  Bueller?

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #16 on: January 19, 2009, 02:50:12 pm »
   The silence is deafening

Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #17 on: January 20, 2009, 10:13:11 am »
AlanZ, I'm sorry that I haven't had any answers for you. I'm working on setting up the test, but I want to make sure I'll have enough files and data to perform the test accurately.

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #18 on: January 20, 2009, 10:40:43 am »
   

Thanks Colin, I look forward to whatever you find out.

Please let me know if there's anything I can do to help.

 

I'm not sure what to make of the lack of experience from anyone else on this forum.  Is anyone actually using backup successfully?  No one is chiming in with positive or negative experiences, so I'm feeling a wee bit isolated <s>


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #19 on: January 20, 2009, 01:18:07 pm »
Backups between the 2 of the same model NAS device work fine. We've experienced issues in the past with different devices, but it still doesn't make sense because they both use the same backup software, even the same version. I'll continue searching.
Message Edited by Colin137 on 01-20-2009 01:18 PM

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #20 on: January 20, 2009, 03:27:07 pm »
   

Colin,

 

In case it's at all helpful, I was never able to back up successfully to a Buffalo USB drive attached directly to the TS Live either (this takes the network out of the equation).


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #21 on: January 20, 2009, 03:30:57 pm »
Did you format the USB drive with XFS or EXT3 from the web interface before trying the backup to it?

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #22 on: January 20, 2009, 03:44:47 pm »
   

I believe it was XFS  (or whichever format was specified by tech support at the time as being the newest)

I no longer have the drive connected to the TS, so I can't check.


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2009, 03:49:21 pm »
Hmmm... in that case I suspect some hardware issue with the device. I recommend calling our support line to obtain a warranty replacement for the Terastation. Have you tried backing up to the USB drive from the LS Pro Duo?

Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #24 on: January 20, 2009, 03:50:12 pm »
Actually, scratch that. PM me with a contact number and I'll give you a call. I'll be in next on Thursday.
Message Edited by Colin137 on 01-20-2009 06:15 PM

AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #25 on: January 20, 2009, 06:18:29 pm »
   PM sent, I look forward to hearing from you.

jatsson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #26 on: February 19, 2009, 08:49:23 am »
   

Hey guys, did you find any solution to this problem?

 

I have a Terastation TS-1.0TGL/R5 with Firmware 1.04 and four (SAMSUNG SP2504C) 250Gb Disks in Raid5.

 

I want to back up the Terastation to a Linkstation HD-HC500U2-AP via USB. I have formatted the Linkstation from the terastation using the XFS filesystem.

 

I always get a backup error in the Terastation interface and nothing to track in the log log file. Any pointers or previous experiences would be appreciated.

 

The Terastation only have about 170Gb worth of data but it is lots of documents, pictures etc... so the file count is high and the folder structure deep.

 

Thanks!


AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #27 on: February 19, 2009, 01:18:58 pm »
   

No, the issue has not yet been resolved.

 

In my case, there is never an error message raised... the backup simply hangs (no further disk activity, and the TS still thinks a backup is running)

 

Truly odd.


AlanZ

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #28 on: June 16, 2009, 11:39:51 am »
   

So it's been months with no resolution.

 

Is ANYONE able to back up from a Terastation to a Linkstation?


DanM

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Problem backing up Terastation Live to Linkstation Pro Duo
« Reply #29 on: July 03, 2009, 11:49:28 am »
   

I have encountered the same unexplained backup stop at 96.1GB/ 1,258 folders/ 7,348 files. I was backing-up from a 2TB Terastation Live to a new USB Sans Digital RAID with XFS format.  Stop occurred 5.5 hours after initiation.

 

TS Live has firmware 2.14.  Both devices on individual UPSs.  Last entry in log file shows the NEXT file in a sequence that would have been copied.  That file was actually not successfully copied. Maybe error occurs during periodic log file updates?

 

I will try completing the backup in smaller chunks, then evaluate the reliability of continued differential backups.