Author Topic: LS-CHL v2 Manual rebuild?  (Read 2416 times)

Muzzier23

• Calf
LS-CHL v2 Manual rebuild?
« on: April 25, 2011, 11:17:28 AM »

Hey all,

I have been trawling the site for a few days before i decided to register / post.

I updated to 1.41 and it ran terribly, so i stupidly decided to roll back to 1.37 (mod1). Well, needless to say, it went panfully wrong and now i have a potential door wedge.

I have a fair amount of experience with programming and using CLI and flashing but this is my first time actually plaing with my NAS.

I got all of my data off the drive via Ubuntu, so im not worried about backup. I also (Possibly foolishly) deleted all the partitions and reformatted in XFS.

Here are the steps and results: 

NAS - LS-CHLv2

TFTP version - TFTP Boot Recovery 1.24 All 4 Models

IP address of my PC is static @ 192.168.11.1 (Tried 2 seperate PC's)

Connected trhough router @ 192.168.11.254 (Also connected directly with exactly the same results)

1. Boot up the unit (Red lights flash)

2. Hold function button (Lights flash blue fast)

3. Start TFTP of $kernel & $initrd from 1.37Mod 1 (Files are sent to 192.168.11.150)

4. Unit goes into EM mode with Solid blue light.

5. Open up LSUpdater (modified ini to allow debug mode) and IP always shows as 169.254.xxx.xxx with subnet 255.255.0.0

6. When i try to give the unit a static IP, a box pops up and asks me if i want to change the address, i click yes

7. I get a message waiting for response followed by "Counldn't change the IP-address (0xFFFFFFFE)

8. The address again defaults to 169.254.xxx.xxx

9. Tell the unit to get address from DHCP. Same result as step 7.

Obviously because the NAS has a null address, i cant send an update to it.

I am now thinking i have royally screwup it up??

I have tried different firmwares, all for the LS-CHL v2 (1.34, 1.37, 1.37mod-1, 1.40 and 1.41) and the only one i can have some success with is the 1.37mod-1.