Author Topic: Instructions to properly set up Web Access  (Read 13846 times)

drmemory

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 1152
Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« on: February 23, 2011, 12:55:56 pm »
All,

Try following this guide:

http://buffalotech.com/support-and-downloads/faqs/setting-up-webaccess-on-a-buffalo-linkstation

That should get things working just fine.
Modify message
« Last Edit: May 15, 2017, 10:26:44 am by Eastmarch »

brian_nathaniel

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 921
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 04:21:08 pm »

Link for I.E.:  WebAccess Instructions


wiggy

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2013, 09:06:24 am »
<p>Web Access Instructions: <a href="ftp://24.153.165.234/array1/share/BuffaloWebAccessver1.04rev.5.pdf" rel="nofollow" target="_self">webaccess instructions</a></p><p>This revision includes iphone and android</p>

Web Page not available....

LeeH22

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2013, 02:58:04 am »
The link to fix my broken web access is broke.

Awesome.

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2013, 01:39:27 am »
I didn't use that when i had to setup my WebAccess. Have you tired here:

First way -> http://buffalonas.com/manual/en/

Second way-> http://buffalonas.com/manual/a/en/

I also still have the document still so i uploaded for you :)

Document -> http://tinyurl.com/kg2jdd

So many ways to read on how to setup its crazy lol, overtime i found all this.
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

LeeH22

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #5 on: August 30, 2013, 06:59:43 am »
I fixed it in the end. I had to match my external port to the default internal port. 

This with Dhcp off and port 9000 manually forwarded it worked. 

Cannot believe that was the problem and it hasn't  documented before. 

Its nearly as ridiculous as the help forum links not working......

Thanks Buffalo, never again......one lost customer.

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #6 on: September 05, 2013, 02:20:12 am »
You shouldn't have to match the external port with the internal port at all. The Internal Port is recommend to be 9000 but the external can be set to anything that is not be used. I use port 10521 and there is no issue at all. Maybe you should try factory resetting the unit if your having that issue. I make sure that you are port forwarding the correct ports that you setup.
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

Kindaichi

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #7 on: February 25, 2015, 01:06:26 pm »
I'm using latest firmware 1.69.
Everytime I try to setup the webaccess on my linkstation settings, it hangs at the "saving data" part.
I've tried resetting to factory default but still no luck.
Any idea why?

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2015, 10:05:13 am »
Is UPNP disabled? are you doing the easy setup or advance?
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

Kindaichi

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2015, 08:51:18 am »
UPNP is enabled. I've tried both simple and advanced setup. No luck.

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2015, 12:16:47 pm »
disable upnp and choose a external port between 1500-65000 and try again
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

irwingood

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2015, 09:46:43 am »
The BuffaloNAS.com name I used when I registered by LinkStation is no longer recognized. I was never able to set up web access so it's possible that it went inactive because it was not accessed often enough. I'm trying again, but I can't reach my account. Can I re-register?  I'd like to try again to set up web access following the instructions and advice posted here.

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 565
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2015, 03:42:09 pm »
@irwingood

You sure you are using the right password? If anything and you cannot get it to work, It might be time to get another name. No idea who is in charge of clearing un-used names for Buffalonas.com, I Hear it is cleared out once a year but have no proof backing that up.
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

rmares

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2015, 03:27:21 pm »
I Have a Buffalo link station. I have owned the device for a little over a year now and I have not been able to setup WebAccess since the day of purchase.
I have setup the link station with both a static and dynamic IP and have had no luck each time.  I have tried with upnp enabled and disabled.
I have tried using buffalonas.com and also just manually setting up port forwarding. 

Each way I set it up I can login to the management side of the NAS but I am not able to get webaccess configured correctly. 
I cannot even access webaccess when on the same LAN. 
I Have called support for this issue and was told that they would not be able to assist in troubleshooting this feature.

This has led me to posting on this forum.  I work in tech support for a different storage solution. 
Because I had heard great things about Buffalo I decided to try it out.  However, the difficulty of setting up a feature that is built into the unit and being denied support for the issue from Buffalo's own tech support has made me regret this decision. 

I have spread the word around the office as well as to every customer that I talk to that there seems to be no support for this issue.  I would like to know if any one out there is actually willing to support this device or if I will be forced to go with my company and report to all of our followers about the fact that Buffalo does not stand behind their products. I have tried contacting support for this issue since I got the device.  I would hope that the fact that I was first told they did not know how to resolve the issue would mean that Buffalo would look into this.  If I am having difficulty setting this up it is possible that many other customers have the same issue. 

I would appreciate if anyone out there at Buffalo cares about their customers that they reach out.  Otherwise, this is sending a HUGE message to their customer base that you will not stand behind the products and features offered.  This just may cause myself as well as many others to look to the competition for a product that functions as promised.

Thank you,
A truly unsatisfied customer.


Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 418
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Instructions to properly set up Web Access
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2015, 11:01:18 am »
All,

Try following this guide:

http://buffalotech.com/support-and-downloads/faqs/setting-up-webaccess-on-a-buffalo-linkstation

That should get things working just fine.