Author Topic: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL  (Read 5999 times)

Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« on: January 25, 2011, 05:21:29 am »

The original LS-L500GL disk failed. Where to get boot software and how to prepare new HDD?

Any other solutions, expect sending unit to repair?

 

Thank you!

 

PS. The Acronis image would be the easiest to write to fresh HDD, if it's available.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 10:04:39 am »

Follow FAQ 3 of 5 thats posted at the top of the storage forums. 


Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 10:51:00 am »

Thanks I'll check TFTP.

So, a disk Image isn't an easier way?

 

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 11:03:08 am »

No, you need to follow these instructions when replacing hard drives. 


Sseve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #4 on: February 26, 2011, 08:58:32 am »

Where are the instructions? I press the link and get sent to a message below?

 

Thanks,

Steve


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201

Sseve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #6 on: February 26, 2011, 10:18:06 am »

Is the tftp program the ls-lgl or ls-gl?

 

Also, thanks for the help that the tfpt page can not be found in Internet explorer. It can be found using Firefox.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2011, 10:23:06 am »

ls-lgl


Sseve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2011, 10:38:35 am »

tftp responds with the following information:

 

accepting requests..
Client 192.168.11.150:1568 C:\temp\Buffalo\TFTP Boot Recovery\uImage.buffalo, 25
09 Blocks Served
Client 192.168.11.150:2054 C:\temp\Buffalo\TFTP Boot Recovery\initrd.buffalo, 28
85 Blocks Served

 

I can not update the image neither LUSpdater.exe nor NasNavi.exe can find the link LS-L500 GL. Both LED's are continuously green.

I used the LUSpdater from LS_LGL_Fw2.01.zip download. I used the NasNavi from the tftp download.

 

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #9 on: February 28, 2011, 09:47:36 am »

Did you try doing the force update on the unit? Gonig into the debug settings and choosing all of the options? 


Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2011, 03:14:00 pm »

I have LS-L500GL installed new 1TB Seagate instead of dead HDD,

I downloaded TFT Boot Recovery LS-LGL 1.03 and run tftp boot.exe,

I started station using reset+power, on the cmd screen there reads accepting requests .... on the screen reads client 192.168.11.151 and nothing happens and I don't know how to start Firmware transfer to new disk?

Shouldn't IP be x.x.x.150?

 

 I run Bufalo Nas navigator and it has found LS-LGL-EM21F, IP 192.168.11.150 but again nothing happened and I don't know how to start Firmware transfer to new disk?

And later  this IP has gone 192.168.11.150 and Nas Navigator reports LS-LGL-EM21F 169.254.207.181?

 

Now upper front panel led is flashing and lower is steady on, is the unit formatine an hour or is just an error code?

 

 

 

 


Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2011, 04:00:18 pm »

In meantime I found much newer version 2.01, which seems to be 100% Windows based and drive was found at x.x.x.150 but when updating it just hanged for 10 minutes .., until I switched it off. How long the update is expected to last?

 

 Does there exist a full windows version at all or do I need still this tftp boot.exe which still serves drive at x.x.x.151

 

I also noticed that new version 2.01 hddrootfs.im is 48MB instead the first downloaded one's 300 kB

 

 


Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #12 on: April 08, 2011, 03:50:46 am »

Well, if there is noone else out there, I can continue in monolog mode, but I still hope some with experiences could provide some support.

 

I guess that these messages mean that some basic frimware part should have been transfered to Buffalo unit and unit should be in so called EM mode.

Should this basib part stay there also after reboot? Or do I may/need to reboot after that and before  firmware upload?

 

accepting requests..
Client 192.168.11.151:1568 C:\..................................\uImage.buffalo, 25
09 Blocks Served
Client 192.168.11.151:2054 C:\..................................y\initrd.buffalo, 28
85 Blocks Served

 

 Now NAS naviagtor should find the unit 192.168.11.151. But it doesn't find it normally. Few times Nas naviagtor has found 192.168.11.150 instead of 151. and once I succeeded to start FW upgrade with LS_LGL_FW2.01 which hanged but later LSupdater has failed to found any upgradable unit. While Nas naviagtor finds LS-LGL-EM21F 169.254.207.xxx, which means the unit is online and waiting.

 

It feels like might be a network or a DHCP issue and unit just looses it's IP after entering to EM state.

My network setup is direct connection between PC or using separate switch. PC has been set to 192.168.11.1 and gateway I have tried both 192.168.11.1 and 192.168.11.254 (last doesn't exist in this configuration).

 

Considering that one has spent to this task many hours, means that the manufactured product is of low quality and doesn't have a required support.

But as I feel that I'm already close to solution I shouldn't want to give up at this point.


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5952
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #13 on: April 08, 2011, 12:55:00 pm »

 


Ronya wrote:

Well, if there is noone else out there, I can continue in monolog mode, but I still hope some with experiences could provide some support.

 

I guess that these messages mean that some basic frimware part should have been transfered to Buffalo unit and unit should be in so called EM mode.

Should this basib part stay there also after reboot? Or do I may/need to reboot after that and before  firmware upload?

 

accepting requests..
Client 192.168.11.151:1568 C:\..................................\uImage.buffalo, 25
09 Blocks Served
Client 192.168.11.151:2054 C:\..................................y\initrd.buffalo, 28
85 Blocks Served

 

 Now NAS naviagtor should find the unit 192.168.11.151. But it doesn't find it normally. Few times Nas naviagtor has found 192.168.11.150 instead of 151. and once I succeeded to start FW upgrade with LS_LGL_FW2.01 which hanged but later LSupdater has failed to found any upgradable unit. While Nas naviagtor finds LS-LGL-EM21F 169.254.207.xxx, which means the unit is online and waiting.

 

It feels like might be a network or a DHCP issue and unit just looses it's IP after entering to EM state.

My network setup is direct connection between PC or using separate switch. PC has been set to 192.168.11.1 and gateway I have tried both 192.168.11.1 and 192.168.11.254 (last doesn't exist in this configuration).

 

Considering that one has spent to this task many hours, means that the manufactured product is of low quality and doesn't have a required support.

But as I feel that I'm already close to solution I shouldn't want to give up at this point.


 

Once the unit is in EM mode (either on a 192 or 169 address) attach it to your router. (do not reboot it as the TFTP loader is on the RAM so it you reboot it then it will go back to E06.

 

Wait a minute for it to get a DHCP address from the router, wire the PC to the same router, disable the AV and firewall software and run the LSUpdater.exe file.

 

Let me know how you get on.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

Ronya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to set up new hard disk for LS-L500GL
« Reply #14 on: April 08, 2011, 05:05:53 pm »

Thanks, I manged to load/ upgrade firmware now, disk is formatted and online but there is a new problem - appears that image GUI on the disk is now in Japanese. When logging in, is it possible to change language?

English manual provided admin and password don't work, as there is only one place of these to print in.

 

I downloaded the update image LS_LGL_Fw2.01.zip once again and it's slightly different size now but how to remove previous firmware image easily? Because updater doesn't find  anything to update.

 

Thanks!