Author Topic: Array not configured after power failure  (Read 1661 times)

Quek

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Array not configured after power failure
« on: January 05, 2011, 10:13:34 am »

After a power trip,my array is not configured with its 2 disks. Previously, these 2 disks (DIsk1, Disk2) were set up in RAID1 configuration as Array 1. How do I re-add the array without losing any data?

 

 

Model: Linkstation Duo LS-WXL

Firmware: 1.34 (DTCP-IP:1.40-20101129)

 


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2011, 10:19:37 am »

whats the error message you are getting?

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

Quek

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2011, 08:14:41 am »

There isn't any error message, but the following is now show on the admin interface:

 

System Information//Storage:Not Available

System//Storage//Disk: Disk1 Status is 'Array1'

System//Storage//Disk: Disk2 Status is 'Array1'

System//Storage//RAID Array: Array1 Status is 'Not Configured'

 

Both Disk1 and Disk2 used to be assigned under Array1. They were in RAID1 mirror.

 

 

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/3537011/NAS.JPG

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2011, 04:29:52 pm »

There is usually an LED light on the unit that will blink an error code. Are you getting one of those? 


Quek

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2011, 05:23:59 pm »

On the front panel, only the blue power light is on. On the rear, the network light shows activity. Other than that, there are no indications on the unit itself.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 01:00:29 pm »

You could try updating to 1.37 and then re initializing the unit. After that see if you can rebuild the raid. 


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2011, 01:08:20 pm »

sorry, i was using a browser that was restricted and didnt show the picture.

 

You have a corrupt RAID array, you will need to delete and recreate it, refer to your backup for the data.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

Quek

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Array not configured after power failure
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2011, 06:09:15 pm »

It works. I removed one of the mirror disks, and copied out the data using Knoppix. I rebuilt the remaining mirror disk (which destroys the data), added back the data, and then rebuild the mirror. Thanks for your help.