Author Topic: CLUSTE 64K  (Read 1399 times)

aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
CLUSTE 64K
« on: November 09, 2010, 02:58:56 pm »

hi,

i have bufflo terastation with 4 hd's and i configure raid 5 settings, also i have nvr (indego vision)

the nvr required to use a storge with cluster 64k

i don't see any option on the web config to set that also i see that is the onlay disk formating type is xfs , so is there any solution? or a way to formated as ntfs with 64k ?

thanks.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 03:27:03 pm »

The drive cannot be formated in NTFS. If its a Terstation 3 then it may have 4k sector drives. The NVR would have to support writing to a samba share. 


aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 11:27:16 pm »

hello,

i have  TeraStation™ ES - TS-XEL/R5, so what's i have to do ? any solution?

and why thst with buffalo ?

thanks.

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2010, 11:32:38 pm »

There is no solution to formating the drive. It simply cannot be formatted in NTFS. And why does it require 64k cluster size? Is it trying to install some kind of program onto the drives? Installing drives on to the unit is not supported. And do you know if the NVR has the ability to save to a network share?


aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #4 on: November 09, 2010, 11:43:22 pm »

yes it's support but it should be ntfs (work under windows )... no way right ?

 


aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #5 on: November 09, 2010, 11:44:43 pm »

also it' is an nvr it's just recording.

thanks.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #6 on: November 09, 2010, 11:49:55 pm »

yeah, this sounds like its not going to work. You need a windows box. This is a Nas running a basic version of linux.


aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2010, 11:51:23 pm »

can we change the os ? like install other os or i have to change it at all ?

thanks.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #8 on: November 09, 2010, 11:57:43 pm »

Not at all. Not only do I personally not know how, but even it was possible this forum isnt for mods or hacks. I can't help you void your warranty.


aminbaik

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #9 on: November 10, 2010, 01:13:43 am »

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #10 on: November 10, 2010, 03:11:06 am »

aminbaik wrote:

does Buffalo Drive Format Utility help me ? "http://driver.wareseeker.com/Other/buffalo-drive-format-utility.zip/349159"


listen to what he is saying.......... YOU CANNOT FORMAT THE UNIT TO NTFS.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

JoshC

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
Re: CLUSTE 64K
« Reply #11 on: November 10, 2010, 05:56:05 am »

The only format the unit can and will be in is XFS.