Author Topic: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7  (Read 3334 times)

repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7

I have a Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet USB/ NAS HD-CE640LU2.

Firmware revision: see System Status image below.

 

Computer: HP Pavilion Elite HPE-137CB

Computer Link: http://www.samsclub.com/sams/shop/product.jsp?productId=prod1030282

Control Panel > System Info: http://pete-peters.webs.com/images/20100817_CtrlPnl-Sys.png

 

Router: Linksys Wireless - G Broadband Router WRT54G Ver 6

Router Link: http://downloads.linksysbycisco.com/downloads/datasheet/1224660722411/wrt54g_DS.pdf

 

I'm running a P2P network and the Buffalo is plugged directly into the router in NAS mode.

I can see the Buffalo in Windows 7 Explorer but cannot access it.

I get the error message at the bottom every time.

My two XP macines have no trouble accessing the Buffalo.

 

Have I provided enough information for speculation here?

Please let me know if you need more.

I'm not network illiterate but I am a network newbie.

I'm also a Win7 newbie and although I love it, I'm completely out of my old XP comfort zone.

Please be literal an expansive on feedback.

Thanks everyone.

 

This is my network map:

 

Tut Network Map

 

This is my Buffalo Home Page:

 

Buffalo Home Page

 

This is my Buffalo Network Page:

 

Buffalo Network Page

 

This is my Buffalo System Status Page:

 

Buffalo Systems Status

 

This is the error I'm getting:

 

Buffalo Access Error


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2010, 12:41:20 pm »

Since you have the IP address of the NAS I would suggest of accessing by the NetBIOS name (as your last picture states) to try directly accessing by IP address.  Here's the steps:

 

 

  1. Click Start
  2. Go to 'All Programs'
  3. Go to 'Accessories'
  4. Click on 'Run'
  5. In the run command type in: \\[IP_address_of_NAS]
  6. Press Enter

Let me know what happens :)

 


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2010, 01:03:37 pm »

Hello Dustrega,

 

Tried that before, same error message with IP address substituted for the NetBIOS name.

 

My train of thought is if I reformat to NTFS I would solve my problem.

 

But, I thought I read somewhere this would kill the ability to use the USB in sneaker net mode.

 

I am unable to find that information anywhere now.

 

I want all my computers to use one central storage location but I really don't want to lose the USB capability.

 

If I were to reformat it and it didn't work can I get it back to the state it's in right now?

 

I also read something on the forums that said you lose LAN connectivity if it's reformatted?????

 

I'm open to suggestions and would reluctantly accept losing USB if I can guarantee ALL my computers can read and write to it.

 

Thanks!

 

P.S. Any more information I can get just ask.


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2010, 02:26:19 pm »

Indeed, formatting to NTFS will lose the LAN capability.  Good news is you can recover that capability if you have indeed formatted.  I'm assuming you can ping the device and reach it's web GUI via your internet browser, correct?  If not, are you running any countermeasure software (e.g. Norton, McAfee, ZoneAlarm, etc.)?


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #4 on: August 20, 2010, 03:48:29 pm »

Ping Results:

 

Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Pete>ping 192.168.10.103

Pinging 192.168.10.103 with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 192.168.10.103: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=32
Reply from 192.168.10.103: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=32
Reply from 192.168.10.103: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=32
Reply from 192.168.10.103: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=32

Ping statistics for 192.168.10.103:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 1ms, Average = 0ms

C:\Users\Pete>

 

Affirmative: Getting to the web GUI via Mozilla Firefox

 

Am running COMODO Internet Security Premium now but this problem occured from new computer state day 01 prior to COMODO installation.

 

I originally had ESET Smart Security running prior to installing the Buffalo.

 

If the Buffalo just had an OS kernal you could tap into, it would probably be just a couple minor tweaks to the  permissions. It's frustrating to be so tantalizingly close and then get shutdown completely.

 

What is the recover scenario? I just rechecked all my computers and all are running NTFS.

 

What's the use, however, if I lose LAN connectivity when I reformat?

 

I loose my single greatest asset of hooking up the Buffalo to the router, that's the whole idea.

 

Did I just get my unit a little too early in time (late 2008/ early 2009) to be compatible with Win 7?


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #5 on: August 20, 2010, 04:30:18 pm »

No, Windows 7 uses some of the same networking architecture as Vista which would work fine with our devices.  For troubleshooting sake I would recommend disabling any firewall/countermeasure software and attempt access via IP.


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2010, 12:11:51 am »

I disconnected my fiber from the router and figured out how to turn off my firewalls.

 

As you can see in the link: http://pete-peters.webs.com/images/20100821_FirewallsOFF.png both the Windows AND the COMODO firewall are both turned off.

 

I even did a cold boot and tried again. No change.

 

I'm just spitting into the wind, do you think this could be some kind of router configuration issue?

 

 


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2010, 11:34:34 am »

That would be difficult to determine since you can access the GUI.  If you go to Network and Sharing Center->Advanced Sharing Settings is the File and Printer Sharing Settings disabled?


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2010, 03:36:15 pm »

Dustrega, here is the Advanced Sharing Settings:

 

http://pete-peters.webs.com/images/20100817_Win7_AdvShare_01.png

 

http://pete-peters.webs.com/images/20100817_Win7_AdvShare_02.png

 

Why don't you run down in your head what you want to see and I'll just do a bunch of screen caps for you to look at.

 

This will let you build up a mental picture and see if there are any red flag events that stand out.

 


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #9 on: August 21, 2010, 04:55:50 pm »

Try disabling DHCP on the NAS and setting it to something outside of the DHCP pool (e.g. 192.168.10.125) and see if you can access the NAS then.


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #10 on: August 21, 2010, 09:43:04 pm »

Same Network Error (1208).

 

No Dice.

 

If I step back and mentally convert that NAS to another computer my gut just screams permissions at me.

 

Those permissions are taken care of on that computer but the NAS has no OS.

 

Is there any way to take care of those permissions from this computer?

 

**bleep**! It's sucks that I don't know enough about what I'm doing to be any more than just a set of hands for somebody else!

 

Why can't  we make this work?!

 

It feels like we're standing around shooting at the Predator with Desert Eagle 50AE's

 

Do you have a cerebral gunpool we can draw on from there?

 

We need to add a few more weapons into the mix. Like a AA12 Full Auto Shotgun w/ 32 round drum mags or a

 

Barrett M107 50 Cal. Sniper Rifle or a GE M134 Vulcan minigun.

 

Three through however many heads are better than just two.

 

Don't in any way think I'm not appreciative of your contribution at all! Just frustrated.


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 04:41:08 pm »

I did some digging and found this post linked in this forum.  I'll look into it more for you.  Note: there is another post on this forum that has some steps I don't think we've tried but this definitely looks more and more like the exact issue you're having and there hasn't been a response which means it might work.


repetemini

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 10:04:57 pm »

Dustrega,

 

Just got your post. Started Fall Semester today may be a few before I can continue the investigation.

 

Just wanted to let you know I would probably be offline.

 

Thanks.


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: Buffalo DriveStation Flexnet HD-CE640LU2 Access Problem from Windows 7
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2010, 11:35:12 am »

Not a problem at all just let us know what you find out okay? :)