Author Topic: Can't make the NAS working on internet  (Read 2105 times)

HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Can't make the NAS working on internet
« on: July 21, 2010, 06:43:30 am »

From what i read here, my issues with TB are related to the IP configurations

my nas is 192.168.0.47

The connection is shared through the PC (not thru a router) that has ip 192.168.0.5

 

this IP is set as gateway on the nas, but still it doesn't work.

 

Do you know what i should change ?



HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 07:19:55 am »

ops...

 

I have a Linkstation Pro 1 TB LS-XHL

 

FW is 1.24

 

i have an internet connectivity provided by a Hsdpa usb key, and the PC shares the connectiovity through a small gigabit switch


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 07:28:40 am »

so are you using some sort of 3G broadband for internet access?

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2010, 08:13:40 am »

Exactly, but not using a router, just the windows ICS (internet connection sharing)

 

BTW a normal TV with network connection  is able to go in internet using this system

 


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2010, 09:56:38 am »

So what is it exactly thats your trying to do from the internet? Web access, ftp, remote access to the GUI? All these will require you to be able to do port forwarding which you probably cannot do with your setup.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2010, 01:34:13 pm »

cannot use BT, neither from link, nor from file


HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2010, 10:18:32 am »

is the firmware update a procedure that formats the disk or can i do it without any risk to the data ?

 


AngelsAbys

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2010, 10:22:47 am »

A firmware update does not format the disk


HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #9 on: July 26, 2010, 03:58:23 am »

From what iread on various websites, this machine is also able to tun downloads from Megaupload using tools like pyload

 

Why buffalo never implemented this functionality with an official firmware? i think they would make theyr customers very happy

 

 


HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #10 on: July 29, 2010, 07:41:06 am »

UP!

 


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #11 on: July 29, 2010, 07:48:17 am »

What is your gateway and DNS entries for the Linkstation?

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #12 on: July 29, 2010, 08:10:08 am »

as gateway i set the IP address of the computer that is sharing the internet connection

 

nothing is set as DNS


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5958
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #13 on: July 29, 2010, 08:17:28 am »

you need to have a DNS entries in order for the LS to communicate with the internet.

Go onto a PC that has internet access.

open command prompt and type "ipconfig /all" (no quotes) => hit enter and make a note of the primary dns.

 

Enter this for the DNS on the Linkstation also and see if it improves your situation.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

HSH

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 40
Re: Can't make the NAS working on internet
« Reply #14 on: July 29, 2010, 09:10:47 am »

ok thanks i'll try asap!

 

what about the possibility to have downloads fromn megaupload and rapidshare?

would it be possible to request a firmware implementation ?