Author Topic: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive  (Read 4197 times)

chancy51

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« on: November 05, 2009, 03:23:07 pm »
   

I have a linkstation live (with bit torrent) LS-CHL 1TB on f/w 1.07.

I have Win7 and XP machine on my network accessing the files on the NAS.

 

I recently knocked over my NAS and got a flash red light (6 times in repeat).

I tried EM and TFTP to get it working again without any luck. The LS-CHL TFTPServerMT.exe opens and closes very quickly. The app in TFTPServer.zip stays open but i'm not seeing the E06, E08 or System now booting replies.

 

I've tried Knoppix (i'm a windows user so very much new to me). I've brought another 1TB WD drive to replace the one that's faulty.

 

I used ddrescue to try and copy sda to sdb but after 24hours i stopped it due to disk errors. It did copy the partitions (see below)

 

knoppix@Knoppix:~$ sudo fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sda1             1       125   1004031   83  Linux
/dev/sda2           126       748   5004247+  83  Linux
/dev/sda4           749    121601 970751722+   5  Extended
/dev/sda5           749       873   1004031   82  Linux swap
/dev/sda6           874    121478 968759631   83  Linux

Disk /dev/sdb: 255 heads, 63 sectors, 121601 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 bytes

  Device Boot    Start       End    Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdb1             1       125   1004031   83  Linux
/dev/sdb2           126       748   5004247+  83  Linux
/dev/sdb4           749    121601 970751722+   5  Extended
/dev/sdb5           749       873   1004031   82  Linux swap
/dev/sdb6           874    121478 968759631   83  Linux

 

 

The faulty drive (sba) has a disk error on sba1, which i guess where the boot files live. All my data is safe in sba6 and i want to copy it to the new drive.

 

1. Does anyone know what the format is for sba1? i've assumed xfs. And how do i get the boot files back on it?

 

2. How do i copy files from sda6 to sda6 using Knoppix or Ubuntu?

 

Thanks.

 

 


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #1 on: November 05, 2009, 04:25:48 pm »

Put the new drive in the Linkstation, it should give you 6 error blinks again. Do the TFTP boot procedure (make sure you use the V1, and run the TFTP Boot.EXE when the procedure calls for it. Once it boots off the kernel provided by TFTP, it should accept a firmware update. You may need to do the force update with all 4 Config options checked to get the updater to repartition the drive correctly. Keep in mind that this is not something we support, so if you have further issues, don't expect me to be able to resolve it. I will certainly try my hardest, though.

 

I recommend copying over the stuff on the data partition (sda6) to the LS (once back up and running) over the network, or to another external drive. Don't try to copy the data directly to the drive to be used in the LS, it most likely won't work right.


chancy51

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #2 on: November 05, 2009, 05:30:40 pm »
   

Managed to get the TFTP to work. This thread helped a lot!

 

http://forums.buffalotech.com/t5/Storage/LS-CHL-hard-disk-replace/m-p/18071

 

Then i flashed 1.07 on to the drive but had a error at the end stating the system clock was out. I checked the web GUI and found it to be in Japanese??? Have i installed the wrong f/w or TFTP files?

 

I used ftp://24.153.165.234/disk1/share/nas-recovery/TFTP%20Boot%20Recovery%20LS-CHL%201.06.exe

 

And f/w 1.07 from the support pages.

 

 


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #3 on: November 05, 2009, 05:38:38 pm »

No, you got the right software:

 

Try following these steps to change the device back to English:

1. Connect to the web configuration utility by entering the TeraStation's IP address in a web browser.
 2. In the column of blue items on the left hand side, select the second link.
 3. Under the first header are two text fields; enter or modify the text in the second.
 4. Under the third header, the first entry is a radio selection with two options; select the one on the right.
 5. Under the fourth header (with two menu/pulldown boxes beneath it), set both menu boxes to the second entry in the list (the second menu box should say cp437).
 6. Click the button, and close and reopen the browser.


chancy51

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #4 on: November 06, 2009, 03:30:25 am »
   

Thanks for your help. That did the trick.

 


jamesbuf

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2010, 11:48:54 am »

I'm having trouble gaining access to the ftp site for the tftp program.  Is it still up?


AngelsAbys

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
Re: LS-CHL 1TB copy to new drive
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2010, 11:55:06 am »

At the current time the FTP site is down,  we apologize for the inconvienance