Author Topic: Blinking red light on LS220D  (Read 447 times)

zlate

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Blinking red light on LS220D
« on: November 28, 2019, 04:01:40 pm »
Since i rebooted my NAS its no longer working as intended.

I think its blinking 3 times, i have a video showing it here https://photos.google.com/share/AF1QipNAPTk_DqnUDfxrcAfq10LREK6UQ7GJg67DZEGtcWNSx2U4Xys4xEnagFudM9lP-g?key=Q040OUtqRk9PTkV6Z0lYbUhFN3FGYmhuVi1rNzdn


The webpage is mostly inaccessable since it only show a blank page with a few empty boxes, when i use CURL i get th following code:

Code: [Select]
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml"><!-- InstanceBegin template="/Templates/base.dwt" codeOutsideHTMLIsLocked="false" -->
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css" />
<meta http-equiv="Content-Script-Type" content="text/javascript" />
<meta http-equiv="imagetoolbar" content="no" />
<!-- InstanceBeginEditable name="title" -->
<title>BUFFALO</title>
<!-- InstanceEndEditable -->
<meta name="copyright" content="Copyright (c) 2011 BUFFALO Inc. All rights reserved." />

<!-- CSS:Ext -->
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="js/ext/resources/css/ext-all-gray.css?_dc=1532607977" />

<!-- JS:Ext -->
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/ext/bootstrap.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/ext/locale/ext-lang-ja.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/ux/Proxy/Server_JsonRpc2.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/ux/Proxy/Ajax_JsonRpc2.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/common/config.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/common/dbslib.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/common/utils.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="js/common/switch.js?_dc=1532607977"></script>
</head>
<body>
<noscript>
  <img src="./img/top/enable-javascript.png" />
</noscript>
</body>
</html>


Sometimes there are errorcodes showing  E30 and l12


https://imgur.com/Uih1V47
Screenshot of the webpage


https://imgur.com/g9s6pPJ

What do i do from here?

Can i somehow mount one of the drives and extract the data to new disks?
Is there a disk issue or could it be the OS of the NAS that is in trouble?
Let me know if i need to present more data for troubleshooting.


Br, Tommy

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2019, 04:51:31 pm »
You can see the meaning if the codes here:
http://buffalo.jp/support_s/guide2/manual/ls200/global/99/en/mobile_main.html?Chapter10#h2anc0

It sounds like it had an issue which caused the raid array to become “degraded”. This could be a physical issue with one of the drives.

The data is stores in an XFS filesystem on a software raid array (MDADM) you should be able to
You can connect them to a PC running linux and mount/access them if needed.

zlate

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2019, 03:13:10 pm »
Thanks!

But do you have any idea why the webpage/interface does not work ?

I have upgraded it to the 1.70 i think.

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2019, 08:03:34 pm »
If the firmware/OS are messed up the web interface can act strangely. I’ve seen similar things though a reboot usually cleared it up.

zlate

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2019, 05:46:07 am »
Okey, im gonna try and reinstall the firmware. Maybe there is a way to use old firmware aswell since i think its the 1.70 that i tried to upgrade to.

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2019, 10:20:27 am »
I wouldn’t blame the firmware version itself. Given some of the things fixed in the latest versions you probably want to start with the latest one.

zlate

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #6 on: December 07, 2019, 04:55:05 pm »
Thanks, one disk was probably broken since i was not able do mount that one. The other disk i was able to mount, it actually got automounted to a "md" point and was able to access the files from there.

I bought a new NAS and copied the files from the mounted disk.  Not sure if the old Nas is going to be useful, maybe i can make a hard reset on it or something.

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Blinking red light on LS220D
« Reply #7 on: December 07, 2019, 05:16:44 pm »
Heres a post about starting over from blank drives:
https://forums.buffalotech.com/index.php?topic=30419.0