Author Topic: Which Firmware????  (Read 2987 times)

KenStupka

• Calf
Which Firmware????
« on: August 23, 2009, 06:41:01 PM »

I appologize for this silly question but I am new to Buffalo products and from what I have seen on this forum, there seem to be a fair amount of problems arising from firmware updates so I want to be sure that I am not going to screw up my drive by installing the wrong firmware. 

I have a LS-XH 1TB drive that has firmware 1.03 installed.

I went to the download section and found 2 listings for firmware updates. 

One link is labeled 1.03-0.3 and the other is labeled 1.10

Which one of these 2 do I select to update my current version 1.03?  

Also, if there were several other newer selections, would it hurt to install the latest firmware, skipping over the ones in between the current and the newest?  

Are there any safegards against installing the wrong firmware version?

Thanks 

JoshC

• Big Bull
Re: Which Firmware????
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2009, 06:47:27 PM »
If it is the wrong firmware then the updater wont find the unit.  The most recent version is the 1.10.  That is the one that you do want to download if you are gonna update it.  Is there anything wrong with the unit?

KenStupka

• Calf
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2009, 08:51:12 PM »

Josh,

Thanks for the reply.  

The only problem that I have with the unit is that I don't seem to be able to do a direct copy from a USB device.  I have tried 2 USB drives and a digital camera.  In each case, the USB device is discovered and appears that both the LinkStation drive and USB devices go through the motions of copying but when I check the LinkStation drive, there are no files copied.  I have followed the instructions posted in the knowledge base to a letter.  

A tech support person at Buffalo suggested the firmware upgrade but if you have any other suggestions, I am all ears.

Thanks

JoshC

• Big Bull
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2009, 11:31:40 PM »