Author Topic: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?  (Read 969 times)

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« on: March 11, 2019, 04:46:07 am »
I have a problem with my Linkstation LS/QVL 4-bay NAS where the NAS self power off after a few minutes (sometimes a few hours).
The Linkstation is currently on RAID 5 with 4 HDD, 2TB each.

I can get a used Terastation Pro II TS-HTGL/R5 sold online.
Can I move all 4 HDDs from Linkstation to Terastation? Will it automatically detect the RAID 5 and keep the data intact? What should I do to achieve that?
« Last Edit: March 11, 2019, 04:49:33 am by rhw »

oxygen8

  • The Oxy-genuine article
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2019, 09:15:01 am »
this is not possible
the old TS can only use 2TB per disc
from:
http://forums.buffalotech.com/index.php?topic=11631.0


Open SSH on your LS-QVL and check the SMART status of the discs

my german howto
https://forum.nas-hilfe.de/festplatten-und-ssd-laufwerke/pruefung-einer-festplatte-unter-linux-t1291.html

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #2 on: March 11, 2019, 05:52:01 pm »
Yeah I's say the TS-HTGL is too old to be worthwhile,

I'd suggest switching the switch on the back from AUTO to MANUAL. It  might just be shutting off when idle, at least if I remember how that works correctly.

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2019, 02:46:02 am »
Open SSH on your LS-QVL and check the SMART status of the discs

my german howto
https://forum.nas-hilfe.de/festplatten-und-ssd-laufwerke/pruefung-einer-festplatte-unter-linux-t1291.html
Thank you for the answer! Before I try the hard way (SSH, check SMART status, etc), what if I find another used LS-QVL and insert all the current HDDs to the second LS? Any extra steps to make sure the data in RAID5 is intact?


rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2019, 02:47:05 am »
Yeah I's say the TS-HTGL is too old to be worthwhile,

I'd suggest switching the switch on the back from AUTO to MANUAL. It  might just be shutting off when idle, at least if I remember how that works correctly.
Thank you! The switch is currently on Manual.

oxygen8

  • The Oxy-genuine article
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2019, 03:20:30 am »
Yes, you can use all discs on the right place in a new nas

i had never a demaged nas.
allways i have demaged discs and one time a demaged power supply

your nas will shut down if the raid is demaged

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2019, 09:00:42 am »
Hi oxygen8,

I had a chance to study your website and the instruction:
* I failed to enable ssh access using the GUI tool (I can execute all steps without error, but somehow got ssh "connection refused"), so I tried the hard way below.
* I tried to use the command line tool, but for some reason I failed to change the sshd_config. I tried to "cat /etc/sshd_config" and the config remains unchanged
* I use the command line tool to do smartctl command on all HDDs and I don't see anything strange from the output. The output seems truncated though
* What should I do next? Should I run the smartctl test? I didn't do it because the NAS is in the checking mode.

BTW, when the NAS is still powered on, it's running some kind of diagnostic mode with blinking purple LED. The NAS page says "RAID Array 1 | Status: Checking (  2.0 % Complete)".
I never see it complete 100% because after a while (few minutes, sometimes few hours) it powers off by itself.

Thanks a lot!

===Smartctl output===
>smartctl -d marvell -a /dev/sda
smartctl version 5.37 [arm-none-linux-gnueabi] Copyright (C) 2002-6 Bruce Allen
Home page is http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net/

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Device Model:     WDC WD20EARX-00PASB0
Serial Number:    WD-WCAZAC439369
Firmware Version: 51.0AB51
User Capacity:    2,000,398,934,016 bytes
Device is:        Not in smartctl database [for details use: -P showall]
ATA Version is:   8
ATA Standard is:  Exact ATA specification draft version not indicated
Local Time is:    Tue Mar 12 21:43:40 2019 CST
SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
SMART support is: Enabled

=== START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED

General SMART Values:
Offline data collection status:  (0x84)   Offline data collection activity
               was suspended by an interrupting command from host.
               Auto Offline Data Collection: Enabled.
Self-test execution status:      (   0)   The previous self-test routine completed
               without error or no self-test has ever
               been run.
Total time to complete Offline
data collection:        (38580) seconds.
Offline data collection
capabilities:           (0x7b) SMART execute Offline immediate.
               Auto Offline data collection on/off support.
               Suspend Offline collection upon new
               command.
               Offline surface scan supported.
               Self-test supported.
               Conveyance Self-test supported.
               Selective Self-test sup

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 266
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2019, 09:11:23 am »
If you have trouble with ssh you can also send the command "/bin/busybox telnetd &" to enable telnet

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2019, 09:21:44 am »
If you have trouble with ssh you can also send the command "/bin/busybox telnetd &" to enable telnet
Oh wow, I'm in! Thank you!

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2019, 09:27:02 am »
sda:
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
  1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate     0x002f   200   200   051    Pre-fail  Always       -       2
  3 Spin_Up_Time            0x0027   252   163   021    Pre-fail  Always       -       2366
  4 Start_Stop_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       62
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  7 Seek_Error_Rate         0x002e   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
  9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   018   018   000    Old_age   Always       -       60334
 10 Spin_Retry_Count        0x0032   100   253   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 11 Calibration_Retry_Count 0x0032   100   253   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       61
192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       60
193 Load_Cycle_Count        0x0032   001   001   000    Old_age   Always       -       7467508
194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   110   090   000    Old_age   Always       -       40
196 Reallocated_Event_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   0x0030   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
200 Multi_Zone_Error_Rate   0x0008   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0



sdb:
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
  1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate     0x000f   118   099   006    Pre-fail  Always       -       172135857
  3 Spin_Up_Time            0x0003   100   100   000    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  4 Start_Stop_Count        0x0032   100   100   020    Old_age   Always       -       70
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   100   100   036    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  7 Seek_Error_Rate         0x000f   083   060   030    Pre-fail  Always       -       205852999
  9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   022   022   000    Old_age   Always       -       68560
 10 Spin_Retry_Count        0x0013   100   100   097    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
 12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   020    Old_age   Always       -       70
183 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
184 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   099    Old_age   Always       -       0
187 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
188 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
189 Unknown_Attribute       0x003a   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
190 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   058   041   045    Old_age   Always   In_the_past 1525420392490
194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   042   059   000    Old_age   Always       -       42 (Lifetime Min/Max 0/25)
195 Hardware_ECC_Recovered  0x001a   049   022   000    Old_age   Always       -       172135857
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0012   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   0x0010   100   100   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x003e   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
240 Head_Flying_Hours       0x0000   100   253   000    Old_age   Offline      -       246123100966001
241 Unknown_Attribute       0x0000   100   253   000    Old_age   Offline      -       560993046
242 Unknown_Attribute       0x0000   100   253   000    Old_age   Offline      -       415568208



sdc:
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
  1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate     0x002f   200   200   051    Pre-fail  Always       -       6
  3 Spin_Up_Time            0x0027   175   175   021    Pre-fail  Always       -       4225
  4 Start_Stop_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       46
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   200   200   140    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  7 Seek_Error_Rate         0x002e   100   253   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
  9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   052   052   000    Old_age   Always       -       35676
 10 Spin_Retry_Count        0x0032   100   253   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 11 Calibration_Retry_Count 0x0032   100   253   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
 12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       46
192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       45
193 Load_Cycle_Count        0x0032   001   001   000    Old_age   Always       -       5067286
194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   105   088   000    Old_age   Always       -       42
196 Reallocated_Event_Count 0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       1
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   0x0030   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
200 Multi_Zone_Error_Rate   0x0008   200   200   000    Old_age   Offline      -       2



sdd:
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME          FLAG     VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE      UPDATED  WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
  1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate     0x000f   114   099   006    Pre-fail  Always       -       76716720
  3 Spin_Up_Time            0x0003   095   095   000    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  4 Start_Stop_Count        0x0032   100   100   020    Old_age   Always       -       33
  5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct   0x0033   100   100   010    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
  7 Seek_Error_Rate         0x000f   074   060   030    Pre-fail  Always       -       28938786
  9 Power_On_Hours          0x0032   085   085   000    Old_age   Always       -       13267
 10 Spin_Retry_Count        0x0013   100   100   097    Pre-fail  Always       -       0
 12 Power_Cycle_Count       0x0032   100   100   020    Old_age   Always       -       33
184 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   099    Old_age   Always       -       0
187 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
188 Unknown_Attribute       0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
189 Unknown_Attribute       0x003a   056   056   000    Old_age   Always       -       44
190 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   061   049   045    Old_age   Always       -       673382439
191 G-Sense_Error_Rate      0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
192 Power-Off_Retract_Count 0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       33
193 Load_Cycle_Count        0x0032   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       67
194 Temperature_Celsius     0x0022   039   051   000    Old_age   Always       -       39 (Lifetime Min/Max 0/29)
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0012   100   100   000    Old_age   Always       -       0
198 Offline_Uncorrectable   0x0010   100   100   000    Old_age   Offline      -       0
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count    0x003e   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       0



====

/dev/sdc is the problematic one?

oxygen8

  • The Oxy-genuine article
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2019, 03:31:17 pm »
Code: [Select]
193 Load_Cycle_Count        0x0032   001   001   000    Old_age   Always       -       5067286
maximum allowed is 300 000
you are 6x higher

you have nit fixed the load cycle bug
https://forum.nas-hilfe.de/festplatten-und-ssd-laufwerke/western-digital-in-einer-ls-xhl-load-cycle-count-t1435.html#p12203

Do not use WD Green in this nas without fixing the bug

Code: [Select]
197 Current_Pending_Sector  0x0032   200   200   000    Old_age   Always       -       1
the disc should be replaced
« Last Edit: March 13, 2019, 01:37:48 am by oxygen8 »

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #11 on: March 13, 2019, 02:23:29 am »
I'll get the disc replaced and fix the bug.

Thank you for all the helpful responses. You guys rock!

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #12 on: March 13, 2019, 06:29:10 pm »
Before I have a chance to replace the disc, the xfs is broken and the NAS is trying to repair it:
xfs_repair /dev/disk1_6

The xfs_repair runs for a long time and after awhile the NAS is powered off by itself so it never complete the repair.
I have to fix the problem of auto power off. Should I try to replace the power brick?

oxygen8

  • The Oxy-genuine article
  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 346
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2019, 04:00:18 am »
remove the demaged disc and your nas shoud be stable

rhw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Moving Linkstation HDDs to Terastation Pro II. Possible?
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2019, 08:44:46 am »
Removed sdc disc and started the NAS. It's currently running xfs_repair automatically. I'll report the outcome. Thanks!