Author Topic: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5): One drive allowed? No web interface?  (Read 4455 times)

TBubba

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
   

Got a Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5) as surplus, with no drives and brackets.

 

I installed a single Hitachi 1TB drive and the apparently system boots fine, with the obvious drive errors, and it -can- be seen and controlled by the client utility, but the Web interface address returns a "Page not Found" error.

 

Are the two related? Do you -have- to have four drives installed?

Message Edited by TBubba on 07-06-2009 10:08 PM

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2009, 09:56:35 pm »

TBubba,

 

Please only post an issue once, I deleted the other message/thread.  You should be able to log into the web interface once you install the firmware.

 

You may have to do this multiple times before it takes.

Message Edited by PCPiranha on 07-06-2009 09:57 PM

TBubba

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 10:11:41 pm »
   

The TS Pro downloads do not show a firmware option.  Is there one?

 

Could you clarify your instructions? 


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 10:21:35 pm »

Hmmmm, not sure where you are looking.

 

Go here:

 

http://www.buffalotech.com/support/downloads/

 

and then select TS Pro and you will see version 1.04 under "firmwares".  Make sure the NASNAVI isnt running and you have all firewalls disabled


TBubba

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2009, 10:41:03 pm »
   

OK, got the firmware (the download naming conventions are a bit queer), ran it, but there's a catch-22...

 

It says you must format the HD to continue, but with only one drive the format fails, and thus the firmware update fails!

 

The firmware is obviously updated, but the TS is still in "EM" mode. How do you get it out of EM mode?

 

 

Is this a pointless exercise without four drives?

Message Edited by TBubba on 07-06-2009 10:43 PM

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2009, 10:45:29 pm »
Yeah it appears that way.  Installing all new drives into a TS isn't really supported, Im just trying to help.

TBubba

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2009, 10:57:15 pm »
   

Did a force update of the firmware, which was reported as successful, but the TS is still in EM mode.

 

Is there any way to get out of EM mode? 


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2009, 01:34:06 am »

The unit is in EM mode because it is only seeing one drive, When it does not recognize more than 1 drive it will boot into EM mode with NO Array Info...

The unit needs 4 drives to function properly!


tanjl

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 256
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2009, 11:49:54 pm »
   

The best thing is still to get four drives installed instead of 1.

 

The reason are that the firmware are actually split into the 4 drives, each containing a small portion that make up the whole firmware.

 

To save yourself more hassle, just install the other three hdds and then use tftp.


cthinh

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2010, 11:58:53 pm »

Do you have a TFTP boot image for this model TS-1.0TGL/R5. I can not find it anywhere thus can not use the NAS because it comes to me without any HD inside and I have to do it from the very beginning.


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2010, 06:56:29 am »

cthinh wrote:

Do you have a TFTP boot image for this model TS-1.0TGL/R5. I can not find it anywhere thus can not use the NAS because it comes to me without any HD inside and I have to do it from the very beginning.


There is no TFTP image for this unit as the boot sequence is located on a flash on the unit, not like the new unit where it is located on the HDD's themseleves.

 

without any HDD inserted your unit should boot straight away into EM mode. If it does not then you have a duff unit.

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

thesycotic

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-1.0TGL/R5), no web interface?
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2011, 08:35:28 pm »

I am in a similar boat with my exact same unit.  I am unable to TFTP since it is FLASH-based instead of drives.  It will not even boot into EM, just stays on 'booting' with or without drives.

 

Is there by chance any way to reflash the firmware without it finishing to boot, or is this unit also duffed?

 

Thank you!