Author Topic: LS420DF  (Read 966 times)

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
LS420DF
« on: August 03, 2018, 03:58:43 pm »
I have an LS420DF firmware version 1.84 with new computer using Win 10 and problems in connecting - error message indicates it needs SMBv2 and MS WIndows does NOT recommend refreshing with SMBv1 checked.

I do not know how to handle.

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 702
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2018, 04:08:33 pm »
The LS420 should support SMB v2. Check the SMB settings in the user interface and make sure version 2 is enabled.

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2018, 03:03:18 pm »
Thanks for responding - and thanks for patience...

When I map to the LS420 the error message i get is that the device only supports SMB1.  Not sure where I find the "user interface"  - through setting on the buffalo as administrator? 
If I open windows features I could check SMB1 or SIB direct - neither checked.  (no SMB2 to check)

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #3 on: August 04, 2018, 03:41:21 pm »
should have added - in Buffalo settings - SMB is enabled - but I do not see any version indicated...

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2018, 04:09:29 pm »
oops- a typo - in program features of control panle - I have options of SMB1 or SMB direct (NO version)

oxygen8

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2018, 04:00:26 am »

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2018, 10:09:21 am »
thanks.. great information.  The questions still remain -
1) What does the LS420DF10 support - only SMB1 ?
2) do I enable SMB1 on my computer despite WIndows warning not to do that?
3) is there an alternative? 
THis did work well on old computer with windows 10 upgrade - just not this new version which is windows 10 pro..

oxygen8

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2018, 10:28:54 am »
with windows 10 you have to use smb2

your nas let you choose smb1 or smb3

do not use smb1

what is you question

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2018, 10:45:38 am »
How to do this...
1 see how to go to refresh windows and can check either SMB1 or SMB direct.  I do not see how to enable SMB2.
THANK YOU for any help

oxygen8

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 244
  • Giving you some breathing space.
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #9 on: August 05, 2018, 12:23:51 pm »
if you enable SMB direct
you will enable SMB3
this is the successor of smb2

:)

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #10 on: August 05, 2018, 03:05:06 pm »
Go to advances settings - file server - SMB - to the right hand side is a black arrow - click it - edit - enable smb2 - save the setting.

Reboot the PC.

Done.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

rrvi.photovan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #11 on: August 05, 2018, 07:05:28 pm »
THANK YOU - that was exactly what I needed.....


Cheers

kermit

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2018, 08:02:40 pm »
Hi,   I have Win 10 pro and I tried to connect my network drive with linkstation LS421.  When I tried to map it via Window explorer,  Windows tells me I have to use SMBv2.   

Does anyone know if LS421 support SMBv2 ?   When can I go in Win 10 to verify this setting ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5933
Re: LS420DF
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2018, 02:54:43 am »
Hi,   I have Win 10 pro and I tried to connect my network drive with linkstation LS421.  When I tried to map it via Window explorer,  Windows tells me I have to use SMBv2.   

Does anyone know if LS421 support SMBv2 ?   When can I go in Win 10 to verify this setting ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Look at what i wrote two posts above yours.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.