Author Topic: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)  (Read 14105 times)

atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
   

Terastation Pro TS-1.6TGL/R5 with 1.04 firmware which I flashed last year sometime (> 3 years old with original hard drives)

 

Woke up one morning to beeping and dreaded E04 (can't load kernel) error message with no link to my network - access light for hard disk #3 was steady green. After several reboots eventually got hard drive failure error message for drive #3.

 

Replaced drive #3 (original WD40000KD-00NAB0, 400GB) with new retail Seagate (ST3500641AS-RK, 500GB) drive. On reboot system gave RAID error message but network link was now available. I connected through web interface and rebuilt RAID (took 6 hours) array but then I got operation mode I12 (degrade mode) error message. Several random checks of files seems to indicate all is OK but I re-scaned RAID array (another 6 hours!) anyway and still received the Operation mod I12 (degrade mode) error message on re-boot. E-mail message from system indicates RAID maintenance was finished (but with no indication of any errors).

  

Any thoughts on how to clear this error message? Do I really still have RAID errors or is there some system reset I need to do to remove the operation mode I12 error message? Are different drive sizes (3 x 400GB + 1 x 500GB) source of operation mode I12 error message?

 

At this point I know I will only have access to 400GB of the new Seagate drive. However, I intend to replace, one-by-one all old WD drives with new 500GB to upgrade to max storage (4 x 500GB) for Terastation Pro (with RAID rebuild after each hard drive replace).

 

Thanks very much in advance for any suggestions.


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5950
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 02:22:30 am »
   I12 is only an information error saying that there was a problem. It should clear by itself in a day or two.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2009, 07:40:07 am »
   

Thanks for your reply, however...

 

System was on for 3 days (since 6/29/09) and the message (I12 degradation mode) never went away. Went away for the long weekend so I shut the system down. Started up this morning (7/6/09) and same behavior (beeping with I12 degradation mode message during kernel loading) but, in addition, I've now lost network link ("link speed, no link" message) and cannot access files or web interface. All hard drives appear to be working as access lights flickered on and off as normal during booting.

 

Any further thoughts now?

 

Thanks


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2009, 08:26:21 am »

Well now the first thing we gotta do is connect back to it...

Try holding the Reset button as you power the unit on, it will display EM Mode Booting and then you can let go of the reset button. 

Turn the unit off and take out drive 1, turn the unit on. See if you can connect to it, if no- turn unit off put in drive 1 and take out drive 2... continue down the line. I want to guess that it will boot normally if you take out drive 3, but check all of them so that we can see if there is a difference.

Is the replacement drive 7200rpm?

 

Once you can get the unit to boot...

Log into the web interface> Maintanance> Initialization> Restore to Defaults (resets all settings and does not touch the data).

If you are still having issues, try Force Updating the Firmware.


atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2009, 08:29:17 am »
   

Further info:

 

After my last message this morning I starting in EM mode (holding down reset switch) and same result (no link and I12). Shut down, removed power cord and network cable for ~ 1 minute, reinserted power cord and then network cable and restarted normally. Result is that I am still in I12 mode but now I have my network link back! I am now trying to get all my data off this unit (I have another terastation pro II) as quickly as possible because I suspect something else besides original hard drive failure is going on here.

 

Thanks


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2009, 08:39:34 am »

Glad you got it connected again and backing up the data is good/safe idea.

 

I again will suggest after you get your data backed up:

Log into the web interface> Maintanance> Initialization>Restore to Defaults (resets all settings and does not touch the data).

If you are still having issues, try Force Updating the Firmware.

 

If your still having issues come back, we'll figure out whats going on!


atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2009, 08:04:23 am »
   

Good news: I transferred all data off the TS so no data loss as far as I can tell now.

 

Bad news: I downloaded firmware and followed instructions to force the firmware update. Everything seemed to be going OK until the restart of the TS during the process. The firware update changed the name of the TS to "TS-TGL-EM" so when the updater waited for the TS to restart I got a timeout error. Now the TS is no longer accessable over my network.

 

The messages on the TS display now are as follows:

 

TS-TGL-EM

192.168.11.150 D

 

--------------------

--------------------

 

Date               Time

2005/1/01      0:50

 

Link Speed

       1000Mbps

 

Several other observations for the firmware update process:

 

1) originally, the updater (NASUpdater.exe) could not find the TS on the network. Only when I changed the nasupdate.ini file to the following was the updater able to find the TS on the network and begin the process (the name of my TS on my network is "TSP-ATLHOME"):

 

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO TS-TGL Updater Ver.1.04
WaitUpdate = 200
WaitReboot = 100
WaitFormat = 240

 

[Target]
ProductID = 0x2002
Name = TSP-ATLHOME
Password=password

 

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 1

 

[SpecialFlags]
Multiple = 1
Quit = 0
Debug=1

 

2) when the updating process started I got the following message (even after checking the "Ignore Current Version" box):

"TSP-ATLHOME's boot version is same as writing boot version(1.23)

Boot update is skipped

 

3) After the restart of the TS during the firmware upgrade process I received the following message:

"TSP-ATLHOME can't respond for 100 seconds - Retry again?" I clicked "retry" and after another 100 seconds I got same message. I next clicked "cancel" and the message indicated that firmware upgrade was not successful. This left the TS in the state as I described above (link speed of 1000Mbps with IP of 192.168.11.150 but no longer accesssable on my network via ping or web interface).

 

Where do I go from here? As I said I'm happy I got my data off the TS but now I want to get this thing operational again. And I'm now very concerned about my other TS-ProII - if something goes wrong there in the future the recovery process better be more straightforward than this or I'm in deep ....

 

Thanks


atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2009, 08:32:10 am »
   

Further update:

 

Turned off TS and booted back into EM mode (holding down reset switch). Turned off TS and booted again (without holding down reset switch). This time TS came back up on my network with 192.168.1.105 (evidently it used DHCP and my router assigned the 105 address). Now I can ping the box but web interface is not working. NASUpdater.exe and TsClient.exe both see the box but both show "-" in the firmware field.

 

I'm guessing the TS got hung halfway through the firmware upgrade process.

 

Noticed that the "Version check" flag is set to "1" in the nasupdater.ini file - should this be set to "0" during the force firmware upgrade process? Willing to try again with firmware upgrade process unless I hear otherwise from someone.

 

Thanks,


atlupo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2009, 10:48:29 am »
   

Final update (hopefully!):

 

I am finally back to normal (I think...).

 

For the benefit of all I just want to list the steps needed to get me back. Starting with the status from my last post ("TS-TGL-EM" with IP = 192.168.1.105):

 

1) used following nasupdate.ini file I ran NASUpdater.exe:

 

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO TS-TGL Updater Ver.1.04
WaitUpdate = 200
WaitReboot = 100
WaitFormat = 240

 

[Target]
ProductID = 0x2002
Name = TS-TGL-EM
Password=password

 

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 0

 

[SpecialFlags]
Multiple = 1
Quit = 0
Debug=1

 

Using debug mode I checked all boxes ("Ignore Current Version", "Format Completely", "Clean User Area"). ***Warning: it appears that these settings delete all data, and sets Raid array to spanning mode - only do this if you have first transferred all your data to another location off of the TS.

 

The firmware process started without issues. At the first restart of the TS I got the "TS-TGL-EM can't respond for 100 seconds - Retry again?" error message. This is because after restart the IP address on the TS was for some reason set to "192.168.11.150". I manually restarted the TS (in EM mode with the reset button) and the TS now rebooted to "192.168.1.105" (evidently router assigned by DHCP).

 

I then clicked the "retry" button in the NASUpdater.exe application and the firmware upgrade process continued. The large file (~ 40 MB) transfer proceeds and all looks OK until the next restart of the TS. After restart the TS is yet again set to IP "192.168.11.150" and the name has been changed to "TS-TGL261". Of course, I get the same "TS-TGL-EM can't respond..." error message (name change and IP address change). I maually restarted the TS (in EM mode) again and the TS rebooted to "192.168.1.105" - but this time the TS was now web interface accessible.

 

However, when accessing the TS ("TS-TGL261" with IP = 192.168.1.105) all the webpages are in Japanese! No - I can't read Japanese - I just was lucky to have another TS which I could refer to to figure where to change the language settings. On the basic page (2nd in the list on the left) I changed:

1) name: to "TS-TGL-EM"

2) display language: English (2nd item in the drop down list)

3) windows client language: CP437 (2nd item in drop down list)

When I clicked the "apply" button (bottom of page) all Japanese characters changed to English so that I could at least read the configuration pages again.

 

Now that the TS name was again set to "TS-TGL-EM" I went back to the NASUpdater.exe application and clicked "retry". This time the application found the TS on the network and reported back that the firmware update was successful. So - forced firmware upgrade complete but with some workarounds!

 

Going back to the web interface I reset all my configurations (static IP address, name to "TSP-ATLHOME", etc.). I also found that the RAID array 1 was reset to spanning mode so I deleted the RAID array 1 and reconfigured all four hard drives into a new RAID 5 array.

 

As I write this the TS is now going through the process of scanning the newly created RAID array (all drive access lights flickering and display shows "I17 RAID array 1 resyncing" message - probably will take hours to complete this as before. However, all seems to be in working order. I can access the TS though my network (ping and web interface)  and the I12 degrade error message that started this whole thread no longer appears in the display. Of course I will still have to transfer all data back up to the unit when the RAID array setup is complete.

 

I hope this is the last you will hear of this problem. I don't know if what I observed is typical or is symptomatic of a problem that is still lurking in the background. If something is still wrong I'm sure I'll be back with more questions.

 

Thanks to all who helped get me this far. I hope what I experienced was not entirely unique so that it may help others who may have problems with their TSs.

 


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2009, 11:39:28 pm »

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO TS-TGL Updater Ver.1.04
WaitUpdate = 200
WaitReboot = 100
WaitFormat = 240

 

[Target]
ProductID = 0x2002
Name = TSP-ATLHOME

Password=password

 

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 1

 

[SpecialFlags]
Multiple = 1
Quit = 0
Debug=1


I have not read everything (I will in a bit) but I just had to point this out...

 

Do NOT want to change the anything other than the Version check (from 1 to 0) and adding  the special flag options. When things aren't changed then it finds it automatically! 


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Terastation Pro (TS-TGL/R5) won't come out of degrade mode (I12)
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2009, 11:51:58 pm »

Im glad that you got it back working!

And Thank You for taking the time to post your solutions to this. It is not a common issue, though Im sure this same solution will help others.