Author Topic: Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact  (Read 68 times)

apiel124

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact
« on: November 08, 2017, 09:42:18 am »
We recently purchased a Terastation TS5410DN because it was advertised on buffalotech.com website as supporting "Advances NTFS Permissions (Windows ACL)" and states that I am able to "copy and paste existing permission structures".  Thus far I have been unable to accomplish this.  Using robocopy and preserving security permissions in the copy, when we move directories to the terastation, the permissions are rewritten to full control for everyone.  Does anyone have any experience with this and getting the existing ACL's to transfer over to the nas?

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact
« Reply #1 on: November 08, 2017, 09:49:58 am »
What type of accounts do you have the existing permissions tied to, local Windows users or domain users? If they are domain users, is the TeraStation joined to the domain?

apiel124

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact
« Reply #2 on: November 08, 2017, 09:57:38 am »
Texturtle,

thank you for the quick reply

The permissions are tied to domain users, or more accurately, domain groups.  The terastation has been joined to the domain

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact
« Reply #3 on: November 08, 2017, 10:45:45 am »
Did you go into the shared folder properties and enable subfolder permissions? http://www.buffalotech.com/knowledge-base/setting-up-subfolder-permissions-on-a-ts3010-5010-series-terastation

apiel124

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Copy Files with Windows ACL Permissions intact
« Reply #4 on: November 08, 2017, 10:56:23 am »
I have verified that the shared folder has subfolder permissions enabled.

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 533
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup