Author Topic: How to enable SMBv2 on Linkstation LS-WXL systems so it works with modern OSes  (Read 100754 times)

Sergeant_Steve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
OK it failed miserably using the forked acp_commander.jar so I used the one from the same repo as the get_ssh script that was updated 6 years ago, and it seemed like it failed (multiple
Code: [Select]
Changeing IP: ACP_STATE_PASSWORD_ERROR at the end of every block of commands) but then I figured I'd try to login as root via putty and that worked with the same password as admin account.

So now I've followed the instructions posted by mishikal (what to put in smb.sh) and patator (how to edit it for those not as familiar with Linux) and I'm hoping after I reboot my PC to disable SMB v1.0 client/server I'll still be able to access my NAS drive.

Sergeant_Steve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Ok I removed SMBv1.0 Client from Windows 10 and I've even restarted the LinkStation for good measure and Windows 10 still won't see the LinkStation.

I've modified the correct config file so it's near enough exactly as posted by mishikal in post #1, I even ran the same restart command and still nothing.

Here is what my config file looks like from putty.

Here is what happens when I run the reload command.

Am I doing something wrong somewhere? I've copied and pasted the configs etc so I don't see how I could mistype something.
« Last Edit: March 23, 2020, 06:17:11 pm by Sergeant_Steve »

Sergeant_Steve

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
So I ended up having to do another restart due to messing up SSH after trying to restart the service, and I've just noticed that now it seems to have decided to start working with Windows 10 after it previously refusing...

So it seems you need to both run the reload command AND restart the LinkStation (which despite me doing both earlier didn't seem to work). I've also just set the max protocol to SMBv2, I might try setting the minimum to SMBv2 as well in the future and see what happens.

Either way my LinkStation now seems to be allowing SMBv2 on Windows 10.

I assume updating Samba to say version 4.x.x for SMBv3 is nigh on impossible?

1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Yes, trying to update Samba within the stock firmware would be nearly impossible.

If you'd like you can replace the stock firmware with Debian Linux. In that case you can easily install modern Samba, though you'll need to configure it yourself.

Installation media and instructions can be found here:
https://github.com/1000001101000/Debian_on_Buffalo

tjsuominen

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Seems ssh is enabled on my LinkStation mini (responds to PuTTy SSH) asking login and password.

Now my challenge is: what is my LS ssh root default passwd...?

For the time being, I have re-enabled SMB1 on my W10...


1000001101000

  • Debian Wizard
  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 728
  • There's no problem so bad you cannot make it worse
Some models have an SSH server running which is used for the SFTP function but is locked down to prevent shell access. The exact way this is accomplished varies somewhat between model/firmware versions.

There have been tools/scripts over the years to automate removing this restriction but they only work for specific versions and will mess up your SSH config if used against an incompatible version. That said I used this one against my LS-QVL a few years ago (but not with the current FW version) and it worked:
https://github.com/rogers0/OpenLinkstation/blob/master/0_get-ssh/get-ssh.sh

When I need a shell on one of these devices I use the "-o" function of ACP Commander to temporarily enable root access over telnet. The primary advantage of this is that it works reliably with all models (except the ls500 series).
https://github.com/1000001101000/acp-commander

For either method you'll want to set a strong root password afterwards since it will enable root logins on the device and set a blank password (or change it to your admin password). In the case of the telnet option the telnet service will only be active until you reboot the device.

tjsuominen

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Thx!

Seems pretty likely that I'll be able to break something while trying, seems likely I'll stick with the SMB1 enabled on my W10.

Just wondering why not buffalotech release one more firmware update so you could this (to enable SMB2/3) from the Web admin console...


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5950
Just wondering why not buffalotech release one more firmware update so you could this (to enable SMB2/3) from the Web admin console...

Because it makes people buy new units.
« Last Edit: May 13, 2020, 08:28:13 am by davo »
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

borgan@yahoo.com

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Hey, all!  I updated the smb.sh as described and can access the NAS.  However, when I attempt to copy a large number of files from my Windows 10 computer, the NAS device services appear to shut down even though the device still pings.  The only way to recover is to hard boot the device.  I am now copying files directly from the backup to the array via ssh console, but this will not fix the overall large file count issue for future use.  Any ideas about either a buffer or other tweak that is missed?  Device is an LS-QVL with FW 1.74.  Thanks!
« Last Edit: May 12, 2020, 03:33:54 pm by borgan@yahoo.com »