Author Topic: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402  (Read 2845 times)

MTUser2007

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« on: August 24, 2016, 10:11:23 am »
My LS420 just started with a flashing red light. The unit is set in RAID 1 I think - uses 2X2TB drives, but only has 2TB storage. I tried swapping the defective drive from NAS Navigator but the light keeps flashing.

1. Did I do the right thing or should have done something else?

2. If this indicates I have a defective unit, how do I check my warranty. I am not exactly sure when I bought the unit. I have the serial number.

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5928
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2016, 10:38:25 am »
You need to recover the RAID once you replace the disk. Follow these steps:

1. Replace the disk and reboot the unit.
2. Log onto the admin page using its IP address.
3. Advanced Settings -> Drives -> RAID -> Array1 -> Select the replacement disk -> Recover RAID.

This will format the disk and add it back to the array.

Backup any data on the NAS before proceeding.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

MTUser2007

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #2 on: August 28, 2016, 06:57:00 pm »
Thanks for the help. I've followed the steps you advise with 3 different 2TB drives that are the same and model as the failed drive. When I put in the correct 4 digit code to confirm that I want to rebuild the array and I know all data will be lost on the replacement drive, I get the following error:

"A system error occurred. Reboot the LinkStation and try configuring it again." When I reboot, I get the same error.

If this is indicative of a bad LinkStation LS420D0402 versus a bad drive, how can I check the warranty on mine using the serial number? I don't remember when I purchased it.

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5928
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2016, 01:20:06 am »
What firmware version is installed?
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

MTUser2007

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2016, 07:06:31 am »
Thanks for the help. 1.81. The LinkStation tells me that I have the latest firmware

What firmware version is installed?

MTUser2007

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2016, 08:39:15 am »
What is the next step please? Contact Buffalo Technical support because troubleshooting here is at a dead end?

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5928
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #6 on: August 31, 2016, 10:33:37 am »
Reset it on the admin page (not just a reboot) and try on a different browser.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

MTUser2007

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Flashing Red Light 3 Times 30 Error - LS420D0402
« Reply #7 on: September 01, 2016, 09:52:50 am »
Sorry, what do you mean reset on the admin page? How would I do that? I can use a different browser, though I've been using Chrome without problem.