Author Topic: Mapping the NAS drive  (Read 2853 times)

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Mapping the NAS drive
« on: August 03, 2016, 08:31:06 am »
Hi,
I've just had a Linkstation LS220D, which I've setup OK (as Raid 1) and It shows on my network. Do I need to Map the drives? and also how can I check that the data I've loaded on is mirroring correctly.
I'm fairly new to NAS drives

Regards

Bob

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2016, 08:35:27 am »
If the you can access it via the network then there is no need to map the drives, you can if you want, it's entirely up to you.

Check on the NAS Navigator software (the lower half beside where it shows the capacity) to verify if you are using RAID1. AFAIK they come as RAID1 by default.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2016, 08:51:31 am »
Hi, Thanks for the reply. I've looked at the NAS Navigator and it shows that The data I've loaded on is 7.5% of the 2Tb capacity. But is there someway I can confirm that the "mirroring" is happening? Is there a way I can view both drives?

Bob

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2016, 09:00:28 am »
Can you post an image of the NAS Navigator for me?
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2016, 09:34:52 am »
Can't get the insert image to work.

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2016, 09:39:24 am »
Just post it to imgur and post the link here.
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2016, 09:46:40 am »

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #7 on: August 03, 2016, 10:00:10 am »
Yes it is using RAID1 :-)

PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #8 on: August 03, 2016, 10:08:12 am »
Yes I understand that's how it's configured, but are you saying that I can't actually see the data on each separate drive? and that I have to accept that the mirroring is taking place?

davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #9 on: August 03, 2016, 10:28:40 am »
Correct!
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

roland1949

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #10 on: August 03, 2016, 10:55:23 am »
Oh well, thanks anyway for your help.

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 823
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Mapping the NAS drive
« Reply #11 on: August 03, 2016, 11:26:26 am »
Any RAID set presents as a single volume. You can check the status of the RAID in the GUI for the LinkStation to verify that the RAID set is optimal, but with any RAID configuration it's not possible to look at the contents of an individual drive. It's just the nature of RAID.