Author Topic: Brand New LS421 - nothing  (Read 14632 times)

rainmaker

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Brand New LS421 - nothing
« on: October 12, 2014, 09:01:46 am »
I've JUST installed a brand new LS421DE Disk Enclosure with my own new WD 4TB matching drives.  I put the drives in and powered up the device.  As predicted in the Quick Start instructions, I saw a red "powering-up" light come on solid.  The instructions indicted that the red light would then flash for 10 minutes indicating initial setup was about to complete.  It has been more than 2 hours with no change in status of the lights.  I DO get a warning in my old LinkStation software saying that this device is in EM mode. 

My research indicates that I may need to update the firmware, a fairly tedious process, and that may also void the warranty... I do not believe that I should have to go through these steps for a first-time-through setup.  Am I wrong?

(Update:  After doing just mega-research, and waiting and waiting, I felt it was time to do the inevitable and call the potentially bottomless-pit of Tech Support at Buffalo... get a fresh cup of coffee and prepare for an hour of voice mail trees, disconnects, front-line screeners, etc., etc. etc.   Much to my surprise, I got a fully-qualified technician on the phone, first time, without a delay.  Then I recalled that I had called TS about two weeks ago with the same great response.... my point is:  it REALLY makes a difference when Tech Support is actually Tech Support.) 

Thanks...
« Last Edit: October 12, 2014, 10:19:08 am by rainmaker »

Texturtle

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 834
  • RAID is NOT a substitute for a good backup
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2014, 02:47:06 pm »
Did you get the issue resolved?

bally

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 34
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2014, 04:22:34 pm »
format the the disk externally  no partition, put them back to the unit, switch the unit on, wait until the light is solid white and red function light is red. press function button for half second the function light start blinking for 10 minutes.

03bluecoupe

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #3 on: October 30, 2014, 04:39:59 pm »
I'm having the exact same issue with a new LS421DE with 2- 3TB Toshiba drives installed.  Hit the "Function" button and the white light came on and both the red and white lights are still on 3 hours later.   Is it formatting the 6TBs worth of drives?

When I talked to Tech earlier they said to NOT format the drives first so that's why I'm wondering if that's what it's doing. I have no way to format the drives externally anyhow unless I rip my laptops apart and that's not happening. ;) 

Does anyone have a definitive idea as to what's going on or should I call back tech tomorrow?
Steve

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 552
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #4 on: October 30, 2014, 07:19:58 pm »
If the drives are brand new you shouldn't have to format the drives at all but if the unit didnt complete the process completely and gets stuck you will have to. Refer to this document.

http://manual.buffalo.jp/buf-doc/35013088-01.pdf and then after thats done this one. http://manual.buffalo.jp/buf-doc/35020072-02.pdf

If you dont have a pc you can turn off, open and connect any spare sata cables and sata powers to your drive or you dont watnt do that. You can use a usb hdd dock. You will have to buy one if you dont. Alil bs i know.. If you want you can power the unit off and remove one disk and try again. After 24hrs of waiting and nothing there will be no reason not to try.
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

03bluecoupe

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #5 on: October 30, 2014, 07:28:37 pm »
Thanks.  As for RTFM - -I did and it was of little help, and that's being kind.  As for buying more equipment; not happening - the enclosure will go back and I'll buy a Synology unit.  I guess I'll give TS a shot in the morning.

If the drives are brand new you shouldn't have to format the drives at all but if the unit didnt complete the process completely and gets stuck you will have to. Refer to this document.

http://manual.buffalo.jp/buf-doc/35013088-01.pdf and then after thats done this one. http://manual.buffalo.jp/buf-doc/35020072-02.pdf

If you dont have a pc you can turn off, open and connect any spare sata cables and sata powers to your drive or you dont watnt do that. You can use a usb hdd dock. You will have to buy one if you dont. Alil bs i know.. If you want you can power the unit off and remove one disk and try again. After 24hrs of waiting and nothing there will be no reason not to try.
Steve

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 552
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #6 on: October 30, 2014, 07:33:29 pm »
Its up to you. I tried both products and i like them both the same. They do what there suppose to. Just the difference is cost is what i don't like lol.
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

03bluecoupe

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #7 on: October 30, 2014, 07:40:45 pm »
I don't want to start a back and forth thing but in my book, an enclosure that won't even start up isn't doing what it's supposed to do.  Having to pre-format drives or buying additional hardware is very counter-productive.  And with that, I'll hush, but thanks for your time and suggestions.
Steve

03bluecoupe

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Brand New LS421 - FIXED
« Reply #8 on: October 31, 2014, 10:02:36 am »
Assuming the NAS Navigator2 software shows your unit, the unit has a valid IP address, Subnet Mask and Default Gateway and is showing that it's in Emergency mode

Solution: Download the latest firmware to your PC and unzip the files into a directory
Edit the LSUpdater.ini file and change the values for both VersionCheck and NoFormatting to be 0 (zero)

Add these lines at the bottom of the file

[SpecialFlags]
Debug = 1

Save the file and run the LSUpdater.exe file

Right click in the window header (where it says BUFFALO LinkStation Series Updater Ver.1.32 )

Select the Debug (D) option
Check the "Rebuild partition table" and "Force update" options
click ok
click update

This will force the firmware install and hard drive initialization.

After that's done you can bring up the NAS Nav2 software, right click on your drive and the Settings option should be there and you can continue with the setup.

Good luck.

EDIT:  after the above procedure, reinstall the software from the CD and it will assign the "L" drive letter to your Buffalo unit. By default it comes with RAID0 enabled so to have a useful configuration, you need to nuke that and either go with JBOD or RAID1 configuration. 

The YouTube Buffalo Tech Channel ( http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=buffalo+tech+channel ) has some helpful videos but they don't match the latest screens.  If you're somewhat techie, figuring out how to accomplish the steps they show in the videos isn't too bad but can take a minute or two. 

I put 2 - 3TB 7200RPM Toshiba drives in the enclosure and have nuked the RAID0 configuration.  It's currently setting them up in RAID1 and from the looks of it, it may be done in about 24 hours elapsed time. 

« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 12:32:24 pm by 03bluecoupe »
Steve

joma90

  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 552
  • Life would be easy if we only had the source code!
    • Let me show you how to google
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #9 on: October 31, 2014, 02:00:38 pm »
I used to tell people that since they would fail sometimes on the install but someone important.. not pointing fingers said not to.. forgot reasons so i never really told people that no more. Only units that are disk less... I think you can break something.. eh i don't remember so i guess i can tell people.

Usually if its something im not really suppose to share ill message people with the info.. but i gotten lazy about somethings... Well hopefully no more issues.. cross your fingers...
Units I own: TS-XL, TS-WXL, LS-WVL, TS-RXL,  TS5400, TS-RVHL,

I don't work for Buffalo but i do love there products enough to help people

03bluecoupe

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Brand New LS421 - nothing
« Reply #10 on: October 31, 2014, 02:58:39 pm »
It's difficult to tell who/what you're replying to but on the chance that it's my "FIXED" post....   I pass on information. I learned that from 38 years as a software/hardware tester for a "major computer/software company". It shouldn't take much to deduce what company that is. ;) 

If someone is having this problem then their unit is a brick so this information is useful. Should someone get bent out of shape that I don't hoard the information to myself and just pass it out sparingly, they can feel free to do... whatever. 

I share, period.

I used to tell people that since they would fail sometimes on the install but someone important.. not pointing fingers said not to.. forgot reasons so i never really told people that no more. Only units that are disk less... I think you can break something.. eh i don't remember so i guess i can tell people.

Usually if its something im not really suppose to share ill message people with the info.. but i gotten lazy about somethings... Well hopefully no more issues.. cross your fingers...
« Last Edit: October 31, 2014, 03:00:12 pm by 03bluecoupe »
Steve