Author Topic: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.  (Read 4236 times)

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« on: April 21, 2009, 01:31:17 pm »
   

I have a new LinkStation Quad 4TB drive (LS-Q4.0TL/5R). Every once and a while the drive just stops responding.

 

The drive disappears from the network so that none of our computers can connect to it. I can still ping the drives IP address but I can't connect to it. I also can't power down the drive pressing the switch on the front of the drive has no effect. The only wya I've found to get the drive working again is to unplug it and then plug it back in.

 

It seems to be doing this every week to 10 days.

 

The drive has the latest firmware listed on the buffalo site. I've set the drive to have a static IP and I've diabled all the features we don't need (media share, bit torrent, print server, etc).


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 02:30:02 pm »

When it stops responding can you access it by \\IP in the run command?  Also try initializing the device via the web interface and try setting the LS to a static IP (if you haven't already)


Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2009, 02:38:23 pm »
   

If I ping the drive's IP it returns properly. I didn't try accessing it through the run command only through window's explorer on several systems.

 

The drive is set to static IP.


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2009, 02:44:41 pm »
Try accessing it through the run command quick for me

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #4 on: April 21, 2009, 03:08:48 pm »
   It's working now, but I allready cycled the power on the drive.

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2009, 12:03:52 pm »
   

The drive disappeared from the network again this morning.

 

When I ping the drive's IP address it returns normally. But the drive is not accessible through windows explorer, the browser, or the run command.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2009, 12:12:56 pm »
Make sure to keep the units power switch to auto if you are having these issue. It could also be a firmware problem. If so you should try to either upgrade the firmware or reinstall the firmware using or force firmware procude.

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #7 on: April 28, 2009, 12:16:30 pm »
   

I'll try switching to auto and see what happens.

 

Is there anyway to "wake" the drive up wihtout pulling the power cord?


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2009, 12:18:48 pm »
Not if its gone to sleep and you dont have the nas navigator installed on your pc's.

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #9 on: April 28, 2009, 12:24:39 pm »
   I've got the nas navigator on one pc but that doesn't find the drive either.

Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #10 on: April 28, 2009, 12:30:18 pm »

No, If the nas navi is on your machine then it shouldn't be going to sleep. But since it is then there is something blocking the nas navigator from telling the unit to stay awake. If you dont want it to go to sleep at all, just keep the switch to manual.


Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #11 on: April 28, 2009, 12:32:07 pm »
   So the only remaining option is to reflash the firmware?

Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2009, 12:58:17 pm »
   I installed the nas navi on several machines on our network. If at least one system is on at all times the drive shouldn't go to sleep, correct?

Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2009, 01:04:51 pm »

There must be something blocking the nas navigator from keeping the unit from staying on. I would just suggest keeping the switch manual. If it keeps happening try the force firmware procedure.


Alric

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: LinkStation Quad "locking" up.
« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2009, 01:12:34 pm »
   

Ok, I'll wait and see if it goes to sleep again and if it does I will reflash the firmware.

 

How dangerous is that for the data?