Author Topic: WHR-G300N installation problems  (Read 7069 times)

Amadan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
WHR-G300N installation problems
« on: September 24, 2009, 10:58:18 pm »
   

I just bought WHR-G300N and I'm trying to set it up using my MacBook. (If it's relevant, it's a Japanese version.) It is connected to OCN ISP's cable modem, but it should not matter yet. Also, if I plug in my MacBook directly into the modem, the 'Net works.

 

I tried to set the router up following the instructions enclosed in the box:

 

a) Connect everything with Ethernet cables, power up everything in order, start AirStation Setup Tool (or whatever it's called in English). I do not see the router listed, no matter how much I Refresh.

 

b) Disconnect the MacBook, start AOSS Assistant, push the AOSS button, follow instructions. The AOSS is recognised, negotiations begin, and after 10-15 seconds on the second step ("Starting transmission" ) I get an error message "Error has occured (NO_PACKET_INIT)", which is apparently a first even for the mighty Google. :(

 

I also tried the usual method, supported by the PDF manual I found on your site:

 

c) Connect everything, point a browser to 192.168.11.1. It's even written on the router body. Nothing there. I also tried .1.1, .2.1 and .10.1. No connection. 

 

The LEDs are:

Power: Green.

Security: Amber (or blinking Amber during and after failing AOSS attempt)

Wireless: Green

Router: Green

Diag: Off

 

I've run out of things to try. Please help?


Amadan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2009, 11:03:40 pm »
   

Err, sorry - Red Diag is on while connected to the modem; it flashes Long, Short, Short, then turns on again for good.

 

It is off while the modem is disconnected (such as while I connect directly to write these messages :D )


jimcpl

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2009, 08:42:03 am »
   

Hi,

 

Try connecting directly to one of the 4 LAN ports from you computer, then set your computer's IP address to 192.168.11.3.  Then, try pinging 192.168.11.100, and see if you can ping.

 

If you can ping, point your browser to http://192.168.11.100.

 

Jim


jimcpl

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2009, 08:45:04 am »
   

Oops.  Also, when you set the IP address for your computer to 192.168.11.3, also set the netmask/subnet to 255.255.255.0.

 

Jim


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2009, 10:09:54 am »
   Sounds like an IP conflict or something, if the router is in bridge mode then it's IP is auto changed to 192.168.11.100 instead of 192.168.11.1 which is for router mode.

Amadan

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2009, 11:39:41 am »
   Thanks. Doing it manually worked. It's still at 192.168.11.1, it just did not want to accept DHCP for some reason. Once I put the numbers in myself, it clicked. Now to set up the wireless...

jimcpl

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: WHR-G300N installation problems
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2009, 03:32:14 pm »
   

Hi,

 

Yeah, well, I've never used those auto-config things, mainly because what they actually do is typically not well-documented.  Better to manually configure these things, IMO...

 

Jim