Author Topic: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?  (Read 2134 times)

Wut

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13

Hi all,

 

I am interesting to buy Buffalo Linkstation Duo (with 2x2TB HDD operate in RAID 1 mode).

 

Just a quick question, if I purchase this device. What should I do if the device itself fail ?

 

1. Can I mount one of RAID1 array member directly to my other pc ?

2. When I get new Linkstation Duo (Says if i buy a new one to replace the failed one), can i keep all data in existing hdd with operating in RAID1 mode ?

 

Thanks,


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 07:03:50 pm »

First and most importantly don't place all of your faith (or data) in one device.  It is said anything that can fail will eventually fail.  In short backup your data.  In the event of a RAID failure (e.g. a hard disk drive dies) you might be able to replace the HDD (you need to provide the model number you're interested in so I can confirm this) and rebuild the array thus saving your data.  Beyond that if the NAS fails (e.g. both HDDs die) you will need to consult a data recovery specialist as we do not officially support data recovery methods on this forum (though some users will suggest options).


Wut

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 08:29:46 am »

I mean if the LinkStation Duo itself fail but both HDD still alive. What should I do to get all data in that HDD ?


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 12:00:24 pm »

Take it to a 3rd party data recovery facility.


Wut

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #4 on: August 07, 2010, 07:56:40 pm »

You mean if the box itself failed, data on RAID1 drive will be unaccessible directly ? (Says I cant mount it to one of my linux and read it as a stand-alone drive ?)


Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2010, 12:31:46 pm »

You can try and it's feasible, but what I'm saying is we don't support it.  As a company, in the event a RAID or NAS fails we don't take responsibility for the data on the drive.  Therefore, user end data recovery methods can be suggested but we don't support it.


Wut

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: What to do if LinkStation Duo fail when operate in RAID1 mode ?
« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2010, 07:36:00 pm »

Fair enough, thanks :)