Author Topic: Is the trashbox really trash?  (Read 6237 times)

WE155

• Calf
Is the trashbox really trash?
« on: September 25, 2009, 11:23:08 AM »

Please forgive me but I am new to using a Terastation. This may sound like a dumb question but I need to make sure before I flush 120 gig of files out of the trashbox. The trashbox contains files that were deleted from my HS-DHTGL/R5 1.10 Terastation correct? The trashbox is not just pointers to live data files out on the drive that I don't really want deleted, are they?  The reason I ask is that there are a ton of zero-byte files (that could be pointers) and my boss doesn't remember deleting all the files that are in the trashbox, so I'm supposed to check before flushing them.

I read some of the posts in the 'solved' forum concerning the trashbox, and in particular there is a post "Buffalo Link Station will not recover disk space" posted on 1/23/09 that references zero-byte files that doesn't really answer the zero-byte file question posted.  There is also a reply by Rogere that indicates the Terastation will automatically flush trashbox files if you are trying to copy data to the Terastation that is larger than the available space (but smaller than the available space plus the trashbox space) in order to make room for the new data. My Terastation does not seem to work that way, is there a setting that enables that functionality?  Thanks in advance for any help.

daoswald

• Buffalo
Re: Is the trashbox really trash?
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2009, 01:33:23 AM »

When you delete a file, the file will appear in the trashbox in a folder structure that imitates its original location.  For example:

Delete a file in share/hop/scotch. => File is removed from share/hop/scotch, and will now exist in share/trashbox/hop/scotch.