Author Topic: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?  (Read 3814 times)

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« on: September 03, 2009, 04:29:45 pm »
   

Hello,

I have the LS-WTGL Llinkstation.  When I login to the admin, under Maintenance, I only have a restart option, no Shutdown option.  How do I turn this thing off without starting it immediately back up?

Thanks for your help.

Billie


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 05:01:26 pm »
Thats odd, what firmware are you running?

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 06:32:23 pm »
   I'm not sure how to tell what firmware I'm running.  Can you tell me how to find that?

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2009, 06:33:57 pm »
It will say under the 'home' tab and it will show up in the nasnavi.

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2009, 07:06:30 pm »
   Thanks!  I'm running firmware 3.05

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #5 on: September 03, 2009, 07:30:05 pm »

Do you use itunes at all?

 

If so, update to 3.08

 

If not, update to 3.09

Message Edited by PCPiranha on 09-03-2009 07:30 PM

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2009, 07:35:38 pm »
   

I tunes is not on that box at all, nor is it accessible from that device.  This is simply a storage device.  I don't even know how I would get to an internet page from that device to upgrad and/or install itunes on that device.

I imagine you have your reasons, but I cannot see the relation here at all.


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2009, 08:05:32 pm »
It was a simple question that could've saved you some time, thats all :).

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2009, 08:19:28 pm »
   

Ok.  I certainly appreciate a shortcut!!  :)

With itunes being a no go, what should I do to get the shutdown option installed?

Thanks!


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #9 on: September 03, 2009, 08:24:02 pm »
Update to 3.09

rinthos

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2009, 10:34:19 am »
   

@PCPiranha

 

Can you verify that there's not some toggle to make shutdown or reboot 'disappear' or re-appear?

 

My LS Pro Duo v1 1.09 shows it, my LS Pro Duo v3 3.09 does not have the same shutdown + reboot options, only the single option.

 

Thanks!

 

v309 Missing Shutdown button :(

 

v109:

version 109 JPEG

Message Edited by rinthos on 09-04-2009 08:43 AM
Message Edited by rinthos on 09-04-2009 08:45 AM

billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2009, 10:42:18 am »
   

No, there is no toggle for shutdown.  I've scoured the admin panel.  :)

I'll try to update to 3.09 and see how that goes.....

Thanks!

Billie


rinthos

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2009, 10:46:51 am »
   

Billie,

 

See my post above.  I've attached screenshots from v3.x and from v1.x.

 

Notice that v1.x has the Shutdown option, v3.x does not.

 

Nothing you can do unless Buffalo changes their firmware or has a secret toggle option for us to enable the shutdown button again..... :(

---

 


billie

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2009, 11:20:14 am »
   

Wow!  That doesn't make much sense for functionality, huh?

I guess I'll have to shut down with the power button.  That always makes me cringe.  

Thanks for all of your help.

 


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: No Shutdown option....how do I turn off?
« Reply #14 on: September 05, 2009, 10:58:18 am »

Good call Rinthos!

 

I also see that it is the same with the LS-CHL, so I am assuming it would be because of a problem with shutting it down with the on/off/auto switch.