Author Topic: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710  (Read 2778 times)

jrosen2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« on: September 03, 2009, 03:31:07 pm »
   

I have a 500G linksattion Pro with 2 500G usb drives attached. They are getting full. I recently bought a 1T drive (Iomega) and plugged it into the Linkstation. It was not recognized. Is this because there is a maximum ceiling for this Linkstation?

I also upgraded the firmware and now for some reason I can only map one of the usb drives in windows XP pro. The linkstation and the other drive can be mapped, but their drive assignations dissappear in My Computer. Any ideas?


PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2009, 03:46:03 pm »

Try deleteing the USB disk assignment:

 

from the web interface, go to disk management->USB details, click on the drive, and click delete usb disk assignment. This will unmount the drive and free up the usbdisk1 or usbdisk2 assignment


jrosen2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2009, 06:42:34 pm »
   I did that and it still wouldn't recognize the drive. My question remains - is there a size limit for USB drive connected to this Linkstation?

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2009, 07:36:02 pm »

a 1 tb drive should work fine... there's no size limit that we know of

 

What kind of drive is it (make/model)


jrosen2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2009, 05:28:58 am »
   It  is an Iomega Prestige.

JoshC

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2009, 05:45:54 am »
I just want to dble check.  Did you format the new 1tb drive through the LS interface?

jrosen2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2009, 07:05:19 am »
   I was unable to do anything with that drive. The problem was that when the new drive was connected to the Linkstation, I was unable to get to the disk management settings in the Linkstation software. The page would be blank. I updated the firmware, reset the linkstation, but I still was unable to do so. When I attached the old drive, the disk management 'folder' was available again. I called buffalo and the guy said that there may be a limitation with the size of the drives attached to the linkstation. I have searched everywhere and have not been able to find any information on USB drive size limits. Hence the question. If there is no drive size limitation, where is my problem?

JoshC

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2009, 07:10:30 am »
Thats a good question, becuase that drive should work.  Have you tried another drive other than the ones you have?

jrosen2

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Maximum Size of USB plugged into Linkstation Por LS-GL710
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2009, 08:47:41 am »
   I just retried it again and it worked! I was going to give up after the guy at buffalo call in center said that the problem was that the drive was too big. I am glad I posted here. Thanks