Author Topic: Why two disks ?  (Read 3570 times)

afour33

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Why two disks ?
« on: June 30, 2009, 05:07:20 pm »
   

I'm trying to set up my new livestation mini 500go...impossible...I'm going crazy.

 

I can't explain why there are two disks on my server. Is this normal ? How can I set it up so that only 1 disk appear ?

 

HDD Space Used
Disk 1
0.00 GB / 225.27 GB (0.00 %)

Disk 2
0.00 GB / 225.27 GB (0.00 %)

 

 

Thanks for your help.


JoshC

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2009, 05:49:06 pm »
What RAID do you have it in?

afour33

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2009, 05:54:53 pm »
   

In the disk managment/raidsetup/

it says: 

Raid setup:
 
RAID Array 1
Not Configured

RAID Scanning Setting:
disable

 

I would like to setup the raid system with an external USB Drive of 500go (but it is unplugged right now)

Message Edited by afour33 on 06-30-2009 05:56 PM

JoshC

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1110
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2009, 06:31:45 pm »
The unit is in RAID 0 that is why its showing 2 disk.  You will need to change the RAID1.  Log into the user interface and go to disk managment go to RAID set-up and there you can change it. 

afour33

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #4 on: June 30, 2009, 06:58:47 pm »
   

Thanks for you answer...but I'm not sure to have understand it all.

 

I've tried to change what you said but I still have two disks:

 

When I'm on the linkstation manager. 

On home page I can read:

HDD Space UsedRAID Array 1 0.00 GB / 450.64 GB (0.00 %)

 

but then, when I go to "Disk managment"

it says on the same page:

 

RAID Array Information

    RAID Array 1

    RAID Mode: RAID0

    Disk Structure: Disk 1, 2

 

Disk Information

    Disk 1: StatusRAID Array 1

    total capacity: 244 

    Disk 2StatusRAID Array 1 
    total capacity: 244

 

here is a copy of my screen

 

 

 

Either this is normal and I souldn't worry about or there is something I don't get.

 

thanks again for your help.

 


dgkelp

  • Tatanka
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2009, 07:25:16 pm »
   There are 2 physical hard drives in the device itself.  It is just showing you the status of the 2 disks seperately. 

afour33

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Why two disks ?
« Reply #6 on: July 01, 2009, 02:28:15 am »
   

That's all it is !!! Thank you so much.Nothing on the specs is clear about it...now it is.