Author Topic: Can I make reset to factory settings without loosing any data stored in Linkstation?  (Read 4818 times)

kimmom

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
   

Hello,

 

I have Buffalo Linkstation - LS-WTGL/R1-V3  (Pro Duo)

For some reason now nobody can get connected to it.

 

I tried to logon to it as ADMIN user via web-interface. Unfortunately I have forgotten its password.

At least the one I suppose to remember, it doesn't work ;)

 

There is some important data files in my Linkstation. So I want to be sure that I don't loose them

if I make factory settings reset by pressing function key behind the drive.

 

Do anyone have experience situation like this?

 

Regards, 

KimmoM


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430

There was a hardware revision with this unit.

If you have a "Reset" or "INIT" button- Press and hold for 5 seconds

Function or "Func" Button- Press and hold for 15 seconds

 

Resetting the unit only resets settings, it doesn't touch the data portion.


kimmom

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
   

Thanks, Kevin.

 

I resetted my Linkstation. I found all data files in Linkstation and best of all,

all Active Directory settings and earlier defined user rights to Linkstation drive were still there! 

So I didn't need to do much extrawork.

 

I suspect that loosing connections to Linkstation had something to do with changing time to summer time. It happened at the weekend before we found that we can't connect to Linkstation's data.

 

Regards,

KimmoM


gh

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
   

HI

I have tried to reset and get back to factory settings of my Linkstation ProDuo 2TB, pressing the function button for 15 seconds, without succes: I am still asked my modified username and password, (I don't remember my username...)

 

any clues? thanks very much 


kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430

Default:

username- "admin"   *this will never change

Password- "password"

(Both all lowercase)

 

Try pressing the Function button until the light starts to flash, then let go and press again for another 5 seconds...

 

If this too fails, then the unit is probably set to NOT reset the Admin pwd upon reset!