Author Topic: LS-L500GL default password?  (Read 9150 times)

arrow224

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
LS-L500GL default password?
« on: November 24, 2008, 11:02:04 pm »
   

Ok, so I have a Linkstation EZ LS-L500GL, firmware 1.04 running off my network switch.

 

I am trying to change the IP address from DHCP to static. Once I have selected my IP address, it then asks for a password. I have tried no password,  'admin', 'password', 'administrator', but these do not work.

 

I have tried Pauls suggestion as at http://forums.buffalotech.com/buffalo/board/message?board.id=0101&message.id=277&query.id=52541#M277, however this doesn't work as the update program asks for a password, which of course I don't know.

 

 I wish to update the firmware on this, however without the password it will not work, not even ticking the 'force update' box!

 

What is the password/how can I reset the password?

 

 

Thanks.


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2008, 09:35:53 am »
Have you tried to default the device with the reset button on the back?

arrow224

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2008, 02:19:17 pm »
   

I have pressed the reset button on the back while the unit was off, and that did nothing.

 

I pressed it while it was on, and the link LED flashed orange, so I let it do it's thing until the link LED was green again. I tried, but this didn't work either.

 

Do I need to do something during the orange LED bit? Or is there something else that the reset button does?


arrow224

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2008, 06:17:55 pm »
   Anyone else know how to use the reset button correctly?

Matt_M

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2008, 06:32:28 pm »
On that one it's just a matter of pressing the reset button on the back for about 5 seconds while the unit is powered on. However, within the management page for the unit under initialization there is an option to not reset the admin password through reset, if this was set then it will not default.

arrow224

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #5 on: December 03, 2008, 10:44:37 pm »
   

OK people, I got it updated.

 

It wasn't working about 12 hours ago, so I was searching and I found an update to v1.11. This didn't find any NAS that needed firmware updated. I then tried the 2.11 update, and guess what? It worked. There was no password - the password field was left blank.


irritated

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #6 on: March 19, 2009, 04:11:07 pm »
   

Brand new box, just plugged it in - I see it on the net with the stupid software that came with the device.

 

WTF - is the defult password? Does anyone at buffalo know how to write documentation?

Message Edited by irritated on 03-19-2009 04:11 PM

irritated

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2009, 04:26:34 pm »
   

Thanks - Answered my own question.  For everyone looking through the missing documentation the default user name and password for the LS-L500GL is:

 

Admin

password

 

 


careyfisher

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: LS-L500GL default password?
« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2009, 11:53:20 am »
   

The manual says that but it doesn't work.  Also, why does the manual give a default "Username" when there is no place to enter a Username?