Author Topic: Link station pro duo loosing connection  (Read 3082 times)

ironman

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Link station pro duo loosing connection
« on: March 27, 2009, 06:57:15 pm »
   When I am downloading large files remotely it will start out OK but after a few minutes the download will freeze and then errors out. I have tried various settings on both my router and link station to see if I could find the magic setting and have not been sucessful. Does anyone know the settings that I should use? I have as a router a Linksys (wrt54g) and a Buffalo Link Station Model ( LS-W1.0TGL/R1) and for internet I use dsl. I use different operating systems to access the link station remotley but I do not think that matters. Thanks if any more info is needed let me know.

kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2009, 07:43:02 pm »

What Firmware version is on the unit?

 

Are you using web access or FTP to access it?


ironman

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2009, 09:19:56 pm »
   Firmware is 1.09 and both ftp and web access has been tried with both having the same results.

kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2009, 02:04:02 pm »

FTP:

Make sure each folder is enabled to support FTP

Make sure FTP function is enabled

Forward ports 20 and 21 to the LS from your router

 

Web access:

Make sure that you disable UPnP Firewall and set it to port 9000 and then forward that port on your router

Also make sure that you have at least one folder setup for Web access


ironman

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2009, 11:14:31 pm »
   I have all the settings setup except I did not disable UPnP Will try that and let you know. Thanks for the info

ironman

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #5 on: March 29, 2009, 01:21:21 pm »
   I set everything on my network to a stactic IP address and bridged my modem That did the trick works fine now

kevin

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 430
Re: Link station pro duo loosing connection
« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2009, 08:56:54 pm »
Im glad that helped, let us know if you need further assistance.