Author Topic: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL  (Read 24547 times)

mikep1975

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« on: September 25, 2008, 09:16:01 am »
   

I bought 75 500 GB Linkstation Pro's for backing up our locations.  In setting them up, I've ran across 6 where I can't access the web interface.  The Buffalo NAS Navigator reports a good IP, but when I try to http to that address, it says the page can't be found.

 

These are all set up local before they get shipped to the remote location.  Before I send these back (still under warranty), I'm wondering if anyone has any ideas.

 

Thanks!


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2008, 10:11:47 am »
The firmware can be updated, that will correct it.  Please go to Buffalotech.com just down load it, unzip the folder and run the .exe file to resolve the problem.

mikep1975

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2008, 11:21:31 am »
   

When looking for LS-500GL downloads, the newest firmware that comes up at http://www.buffalotech.com/support/downloads/ is ver 1.11 from 9/4/07 which we're currently running.  Is there a newer version somewhere I'm missing?

 

Thanks


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2008, 02:14:52 pm »
  • Download and extract all files from the firmware update. DO
    NOT download the firmware to the NAS itself. The file is to be executed
    on a PC separate from the device. Running the firmware update from the
    device itself can lock out the NAS and make it unreadable.
  • Open up the .ini file (usually something like LSUpdater.ini) in a text editor program. It should read something like this:

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO LS-GL Updater Ver.1.03 w/Debug
WaitReboot = 240

[Target]
ProductID = 0x0009
Name = LS-GL
Password = password

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 1

  • Make the following changes (add SpecialFlags and Debug, and change Version check to 0, DO NOT CHANGE THE OTHER SECTIONS!):

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO LS-GL Updater Ver.1.03 w/Debug
WaitReboot = 240

[Target]
ProductID = 0x0009
Name = LS-GL
Password = password

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 0

[SpecialFlags]
Debug = 1

  • Save the changes and launch the updater .exe file (usually something like LSUpdater.exe).
  • Right-click on the program's taskbar tab and choose "Debug (D)...".
  • You now have some new config options:
    • "Do not check version" - Tells it to not check the version, check this when forcing.
    • "Rebuild partition table" - As far as we know, deletes and
      rewrites the partition table. Not necessary for force, but may be valid
      if not worried about data.
    • "Delete user-config" - Should just delete the user-made
      configuration changes (like Maintenance->Initialization in GUI), but
      may delete data, so be cautious.
    • "Force update" - Tells it to force the update even if the same version is already on there, check to do a force of update.



  • After making the changes, click OK to save them and then Update to run the forced update.

[

Terastation Pro (and Terastation 2.16)


  • Can do the force, just like the older units, but also has debug options like the new units.
  • Open up the .ini file (usually something like NASUpdater.ini) in a text editor program. It should read something like this:

[Application]
Title = BUFFALO TS-TGL Updater Ver.1.03
WaitUpdate = 200
WaitReboot = 100
WaitFormat = 240

[Target]
ProductID = 0x2002
Name = TeraStation
Password=password

[Flags]
VersionCheck = 0

[SpecialFlags]
Debug = 0
Multiple = 1
Quit = 0

  • Change "Debug = 0" to "Debug = 1". Save the file, and then run the updater again.
  • Right-click on the program's topbar and choose "Debug Mode".
  • You now have some new config options:
    • Ignore Current Version - Tells it to not check the version, check this when forcing.
    • Format Completely - Will reformat the drives and completely clear it out. WARNING, ALL DATA WILL BE LOST!
    • Clear User Area - Should just delete the user-made
      configuration changes (like Maintenance->Initialization in GUI), but
      may delete data, so be cautious.



  • After making the changes, click OK to save them and then Update to run the forced update.

[edit]

Older Units(Linkstation, Linkstation Gigabit, Linkstation Home Server, Terastation, Terastation Home Server)


  • Download and extract the firmware update from the website.
    Make sure to extract all of the files. DO NOT download the firmware to
    the Linkstation itself. The file is to be executed on a PC separate
    from the device. Running the firmware update from the device itself can
    lock out the Linkstation and make it unreadable.
  • Create a shortcut to the .exe.  
  • Go to the properties of the shortcut and in the target space
    go to the end of the quotes and add a space and /force. For example:



  • If the program is having issues, try setting the updater to Windows 2000 compatibility mode.

Info on Windows 2000 Compatibility Mode from the firmware update instructions:
"This
program runs fine on Windows 2000. A recent update to XP SP2 has
brought an incompatibility. For XP and other versions of Windows, set
the program to run in “Windows 2000 compatibility mode”. Do this by
right-clicking on the HD-HTGL FWUpdate.exe icon, selecting Properties,
and choosing the compatibility tab. Put a check next to “Run this
program in compatibility mode for:” and select “Windows 2000” from the
drop-box if it’s not already there. Click OK."


Message Edited by Colin137 on 01-22-2009 04:10 PM
Message Edited by Colin137 on 01-22-2009 04:16 PM

mikep1975

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #4 on: October 02, 2008, 08:09:15 am »
   

After trying this out, I tracked down the true source of my troubles.  I was having issues doing the update, which led me to look more at my own network.  For some reason, DHCP is handing an address to the LinkStation that is already being used on an IP phone.

 

I did need to use that special debug menu to reset the IP though.  The tool on the standard Buffalo NAS Navigator to change IP's wouldn't do it.

 

I'm considering it fixed, or least able to work around.  Still not sure what's allowing the LinkStation to get an already assigned IP though.

 

Thanks for your help!


jjaf

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #5 on: October 02, 2008, 04:31:57 pm »
   

I assign static IP's to my Ls's in the web interface as my router frequently assigned duplicates.


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #6 on: October 03, 2008, 08:33:06 am »
Get a firmware update on the router, your DHCP server is not working correctly.

mikep1975

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #7 on: October 03, 2008, 08:45:09 am »
   

We don't do DHCP off the routers, they're assigned from a national Windows 2003 DHCP server.  Also, the LinkStations are the only device that has experienced this problem.  We've never had a DHCP issue with a single other device on the network.

 

As long as I know what the issue is, it's no problem now though.  I just set up the units here with DHCP and then assign a static address before they get shipped out to their location.  We don't use DHCP on these in the field anyway.

Message Edited by mikep1975 on 10-03-2008 08:48 AM

fostwal

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2008, 04:28:59 am »
   I can't see the images (XXX.png) on the firmware force.  Looks like the links are broken.  Please fix them.

Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #9 on: October 13, 2008, 10:53:36 am »
The links are behind a firewall so at this time we can not change that.  However Buffalo has a knowledge base and we are working on some new concepts to get information out to the consumer.

Dainty

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2008, 01:30:15 pm »
   

I just flashed my LS-500GL with firmware v1.15 and my web interface is now gone, I can login and change my password only, there are no other details available.  I have an Alienware system running Vista Ultimate, the Router is netgear.  I have no issues seeing the content of the NAS and resetting passwords etc.  Just no interface via browser available.  Any ideas how to get web access back.  I would like to return firmware back to factory - but don't now how.  Is this possible? or how do I get full web access back?

 

thanks in advance.... :)


mikep1975

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2008, 01:35:26 pm »
   

Where did you find ver 1.15 of the firmware?  I check the downloads periodically on Buffalo's site and all that's listed for a LinkStation Pro for over a year is 1.11.


Dainty

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2008, 02:02:46 pm »
   

http://www.buffalo-technology.com/support/downloads

 

European updates for Linkstation Pro!

 

 

Message Edited by Dainty on 10-16-2008 02:04 PM

Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: Can't access web interface on LS-500GL
« Reply #13 on: January 22, 2009, 04:17:11 pm »
Fixed the images not loading problem.