Author Topic: LinkStation Live  (Read 6220 times)

DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
LinkStation Live
« on: December 15, 2008, 03:06:44 pm »
   

Can a LinkStation Live access the setup portion of the unit "Users, Folder Rights and Setups" from the Web side?

 

Thanks!

Dean


davo

  • Really Big Bull
  • VIP
  • *
  • Posts: 5929
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2008, 04:14:53 am »
   I take it you mean the GUI of the linkstation to create and edit shares, you will have to forward port xxx to the IP address of the linkstation in your router, then if you are outside your LAN open your browser and type: http://WAN_IP_ADDRESS:PORT_NUMBER
PM me for TFTP / Boot Images / Recovery files  LSRecovery.exe file.

DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2008, 08:42:50 am »
   

I tried using the external IP address and the port number I am using "and the port is forward to the LinkStation Live Unit" but I never get to the GUI screen. Do I need to enable anything else in the LS Live unit?

 

Thanks!

Dean


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2008, 12:40:01 pm »
Try forwarding port 80 or putting the IP of you NAS in the DMZ, (not recommended if you have sensitive data)

DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #4 on: December 18, 2008, 11:06:39 am »
   

I have tried DMZ and still not luck on getting the GUI to come up I just the normal Web Page not found. I also tried port 8080. I assume there are no special settings in LS Live unit.

 

Thanks!

Dean


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #5 on: December 18, 2008, 07:02:31 pm »

Talk to your isp they may be blocking ports for you.

 


DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #6 on: December 19, 2008, 07:41:42 pm »
   

OK I got access to the Files, Folders, From using the public IP address and the open port, "Example= http://HTTP://24.68.126.42:9000"

 

Can I access the setup portion of the LS Live unit from the Web side. Example: To Setup a new user and there password and restrictions. I would like to do that remotely. Currently I am logging on to my PC with PC anywhere then accessing the LS Live unit.

 

Thanks!

Dean


MegatronLives

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2009, 07:49:07 pm »
   

Hello,

I'm having the same issue.  Where you able to resolve?

Thank you


DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2009, 10:58:02 pm »
   

No I never got it working the way I wanted it to, If I use my external IP address and my port number I can logon to the shared files side but not the Admin. part of it, I am not sure if there is a way to access the user set portion from the Web side without using remote access, Like PC anywhere or Remote Desktop Connection.

 

What I find VERY usefull was a free program called Gatway IP Monitior. It e-mails me when my external IP address changes, That way I can allways access my PC since I allways know what my ip address is.

 

If you find a way to access the user setup/password and permsions from the Web side please let me know.

 

Thanks!

Dean


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2009, 04:51:24 pm »
There's nothing on the Linkstation preventing you from doing that. Your ISP is probably blocking port 80. Try forwarding external port 50000 to internal port 80, ip address of the linkstation, then access http://public_ip_address:50000/ from outside the network.

DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2009, 07:11:10 pm »
   

That suggestion forwarding a Public port "80" to a private port "5000" work like a CHARM! Thanks Colin for that suggestion! This was something I REALLY wanted to use!

 

Thanks!

Dean

:smileyhappy:


Colin137

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1125
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #11 on: January 15, 2009, 07:25:31 pm »

I imagine you mean private port 80, public port 50000, cause if you did it the other way 'round, it won't work. Keep in mind port 50000 isn't required, it was just an example. You can use any port higher than 1024.

 

And make sure you change the admin password! :)

Message Edited by Colin137 on 01-15-2009 07:26 PM

DeanRobinson

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: LinkStation Live
« Reply #12 on: January 15, 2009, 07:41:55 pm »
   

Yes that is what I ment, I just used 5000 as a test, Yes I chaned the login password when I first set it up.

 

Thanks!

Dean