Author Topic: Buffering Issue with LinkTheater and LinkStation Quad????  (Read 1417 times)

thompsdw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Buffering Issue with LinkTheater and LinkStation Quad????
« on: July 07, 2010, 02:16:07 pm »

I have a LinkStation Quad that I store all my movies on in a simple DVD rip format (currently ripped with My Movies).  I recently purchased a LT-H90-LAN to play movies remotely from the NAS.  I was able to access them last night (although the interface is not very pretty) with no issues, but during movie playback there are frequent pauses in the playback that seem like a "buffering like" issue.  The media extender is connected to the network through hardwired CAT5 after passing through a 10/100/1000 hub.  Tech support could only come up with a suggestion to change the file format, so I want to explore this one a little more.  If it cannot stream ripped DVD files without frequent pauses - the LinkTheater will NOT meet my needs. 

 

BTW - I can stream from the NAS to my PC with no issues or pausing.  I have also validated that the network wiring is done correctly and is completely functional.  Any one provide any further direction or trouble shooting?


Thaitawat

  • Tatanka
  • **
  • Posts: 97
Re: Buffering Issue with LinkTheater and LinkStation Quad????
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2010, 09:34:42 pm »

I use LinkStation and Quad LT-H90-LAN connected by LAN 10/100.
Movie Files copy from DVD or Rip to ISO no problems.
You try to resolve the problem by Initialization LinkStationis in the Menu Maintenence.

Initialization is a reset procedure that restores all settings back to the default, out of box, configuration. All configuration, users, groups, and backup jobs are lost, but actual data and shares on the hard drive are NOT lost. If you want all data to be erased, erase the drive. Specify whether the LinkStation shall keep its administrator password after a initialization or whether the password should be reset to the default password (default password is password). Press the Apply button once you make the selection. Press the Restore button to begin the initialization process; this will restore all settings to factory defaults but will NOT erase the data on the hard drives.