Author Topic: Installed new ram - PC freezes  (Read 10633 times)

gmarquis

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Installed new ram - PC freezes
« on: October 10, 2008, 09:52:58 am »
   

Hello,

 

I bought 2 x Buffalo Select DD4003-1G/BR 1GB 1X1GB PC3200 DDR400 CL3 184PIN DIMM Memory

I had 2 x Generic 256MB PC3200 DDR400 before.

 

My board (MSI KT6V) only supports up to 2gigs of RAM, so I decided to add a bit of life to my aging PC and bought the maximum it can hold.  It's running a AMD Sempron 2800+ processor, a Nvidia 6600GT vid card, and a 350W power supply.

 

When I installed the Ram, everything went smoothly.  No beeps, and it booted into Window perfectly.  So I decided to run a game that was lagging in speed recently, and the moment the screen resolution changed when the game loads, my pc freezes completely...to the point I need to hit the reset button.

 

I was able to make it freezes by executing a video card stress test, the direct3d test in dxdiag, and it also froze when my screensaver was running (Google Photos Screensaver).

 

Things I tried :

I tried 1 dimm alone, different slots (there's only 2 on my board). One new 1gb mixed with one old 256mb.  Updated video card drivers, bios drivers were already to latest.

Still getting freezes when I run something more demanding than just surfing the net. And the freeze is not random, I can make it freeze when I want by running a game.

 

I checked Event Viewer, and I get this since the new ram is in.

Application popup: : Machine Check: or Application popup: : Machine Check: Regs (about 6 of them)

With message :

Product: Windows Operating System
Source: Application Popup
Version: 5.2
Symbolic Name: STATUS_LOG_HARD_ERROR
Message: Application popup: %1 : %2

 

I've ran a memtest86 all night on the new ram, and it came back with no errors with 5 passes.

 

I'm doubting the ram is bad, since my system boots and all, but I'm thinking it may not be 100% compatible with my system even though it should be.  Since my issues only happens when I put the new ram in, I'm wondering if you could help my out a little.

 

I'm low on time since I need to return this RAM if ever my system won't run properly with it.  I wish I had other 1bg ram to test my system with, but I don't.

 

Let me know,

Gary

 


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2008, 09:52:07 am »
I know you said you have the latest chipset drivers and Bios for the mother board, you may want to try to default the mother board and get all of your windows updates by going to custom and getting all 3 categories.  This ram is compatible with your system and it passed mem test, I will do more research on my side as well.  However in the mean time make sure every thing is updated.

gmarquis

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2008, 08:00:17 am »
   

Hello again,

 

I've resetted my Motherboard to defaults (both BIOS Defaults and CMOS reset (by jumping pins)).

I have all Microsoft Updates (I usually keep that up to date via automatic updates anyways, but I went on the actual update site and grabbed the couple of updates I didn't have yet).

 

Just to let you know that the freezes also occur randomly.  I can force it to freeze buy running certain apps, but if I just browse the web, loading a page might make it freeze as well.

 

Let me know if your research brought any new suggestions or hope to my cause.  I've decided not to return the RAM to the online store since I needed to pay return shipping and 15% restocking fee.  I'm better off selling them privately.


Paul

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1223
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2008, 03:51:45 pm »
bump the RAM voltage by .1-.2V, a lot of DDR400 motherboards aren't supplying enough voltage for 400MHz RAM and he just went from 512 to 2GB, which requires more Current.  Some of the original DDR motherboards only supplied 2.5V (for 333MHz RAM)
Message Edited by Paul on 10-21-2008 03:52 PM

siragu

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2009, 04:29:37 am »

We must very careful while installing new RAM slot. Because I had an experience is that my RAM just started to burn. I did not know why. But later I have come to know that I was not inserted it properly.

Message Edited by siragu on 09-16-2009 04:33 AM
Message Edited by drmemory on 09-28-2009 09:59 AM

Memoryman

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #5 on: September 18, 2009, 01:54:12 pm »
   Yes, bump the RAM Vdimm. You just installed more RAM and this requires more Current. When a larger amount of RAM is installed, it consumes more Current, causing a voltage drop. This is countered by raising Vdimm by .1-.2 volts.

password

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #6 on: September 24, 2009, 06:18:02 am »

new ram will work fast and want to know the latest ram

to know the details 

 

 

 

Message Edited by drmemory on 09-28-2009 10:00 AM

password

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2009, 01:55:48 am »
Click Here to Know More
Message Edited by drmemory on 09-28-2009 10:00 AM

abbeytallbert

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #8 on: January 01, 2010, 01:40:02 am »
   

We must very careful while installing new RAM slot. Because I had an experience is that my RAM just started to burn. I did not know why. But later I have come to know that I was not inserted it properly.

 

 

By

Abbeytallbert

Bestofcolleges in US


jinkis

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #9 on: January 01, 2010, 03:41:07 am »
   

It is a great issue while working with the Ram. It may damage your computer if you are working in an unknown manner. That may freezes your computer into a different manner while you are working with it. I am also faces this kind of problem while try to replace the old ram with the new ram

This kind of thing is definitely damaging the computer while you are doing it wrongly. I am also searching for the reason in a good way. It is very difficult to sort out the problem.

 


Memoryman

  • El Toro
  • ****
  • Posts: 279
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #10 on: January 06, 2010, 09:51:15 am »
   

DDR400 requires a minimum of 2.6V and ours can take up to 2.8V. If you increase the amount of RAM, you may be undervolting the RAM after the increase of RAM, without increase of Vdimm. DDR333 only took 2.5V.


pansaia

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #11 on: February 16, 2010, 04:18:56 am »
   

I added two new sticks of ram a about a day ago and since then my site. Also when my computer freezes i sometimes get what appears to be artifacts at the top of my screen. I bought some stuck it in there but i still got and me windows and a few other things before it started again. Windows 7 has been installed this PC, but caused random freezes. Sometimes the PC froze after a few minutes, other times it that system voltage control is set to Auto and you are not overclocking ram and cpu ...


pansaia

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #12 on: February 16, 2010, 04:35:21 am »
   

I added two new sticks of ram a about a day ago and since then my site. Also when my computer freezes i sometimes get what appears to be artifacts at the top of my screen film online. I bought some stuck it in there but i still got and me windows and a few other things before it started again. Windows 7 has been installed this PC, but caused random freezes movies. Sometimes the PC froze after a few minutes, other times it that system voltage control is set to Auto and you are not overclocking ram and cpu.


pansaia

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Installed new ram - PC freezes
« Reply #13 on: February 16, 2010, 04:39:05 am »
   

I added two new sticks of ram a about a day ago and since then my site. Also when my computer freezes i sometimes get what appears to be artifacts at the top of my screen film online. I bought some stuck it in there but i still got and me windows and a few other things before it started again. Windows 7 has been installed this PC, but caused random freezes movies. Sometimes the PC froze after a few minutes, other times it that system voltage control is set to Auto and you are not overclocking ram and cpu.