Author Topic: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?  (Read 10958 times)

ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« on: October 19, 2012, 07:58:04 pm »

I couldn't get my new WZR-HP-G300NH to work with wireless security. I had to specifically disable the wireless security for any device to connect.

 

I decided to change the firmware in hopes of fixing this issue, updating to the latest build via the web interface but that didn't fix the problem. I was going to install the OpenWRT as was recommended from customer reviews, but the releases were lost and I didn't want to build it. So instead I tried installing the latest DD-WRT firmware (v24 preSP2 build 14896) and that may have broken the router. I installed "buffalo_to_ddwrt_webflash-MULTI.bin". According to http://dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Buffalo_WZR-HP-G300NH that's the proper thing to do.

 

When the device is powered on Diag is red and the Power is green.

 

I've tried:

1. 30-30-30 hard reset.

2. Changing the power switch between auto/off/on. The lights don't change.

3. Running the ASSetWiz.exe from the setup CD. It doesn't work anymore, and gives me an error.

4. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash

5. http://thewichitacomputerguy.com/blog/unbrick-buffalo-wzr-hp-g300nh-router-solid-diag-and-endless-re...

I assume the MAC is my SSID: 10-6F-3F-3D-7A-35
I assume my LAN is 21 according to the picture below

6. http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/buffalo/wzr-hp-g300h?s[]=table&s[]=hardware


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2012, 04:04:12 pm »

 

 

 

 

 


realborat

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2012, 05:22:23 am »

is the red diagnostics led blinking twice every 2 secs? or Solid?


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #3 on: October 22, 2012, 01:22:57 pm »

It's solid red. When I plug it in all of the lights flash on for quarter second.

 

power: green

security: orange

wireless: green

router: green

 

movie engine

on: blue

off: blue

 

Otherwise the lights never change and stay solid with the image I posted.

 


realborat

  • Buffalo
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #4 on: October 22, 2012, 03:20:41 pm »

Try this, if you havent. Press and hold the reset button for 40-50 sec, whilst Airstation is on.If lucky diag light will go off,


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #5 on: October 22, 2012, 04:59:42 pm »

No change with the lights. Tried it with the switch the back on "on" as well as "auto" for 40 and 60 seconds each while changing the "movie engine" switch to on/off.

 

I've changed my old router I'm using now to DD-WRT without an issue... did I do something wrong by trying to change the firmware to DD-WRT or is it just that the router I got was possibly defective? I'm still can't tell if there's a difference between WZR-HP-G300NH and the one I have with a 2 at the end.

 

The file I used is below. I didn't see a G300NH2 listed.

http://www.dd-wrt.com/routerdb/de/download/Buffalo/WZR-HP-G300NH/-/buffalo_to_ddwrt_webflash-MULTI.bin/3777


bt4wang

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #6 on: October 23, 2012, 01:15:10 am »

I think you have used a wrong file, the right one can be found here by searching "WZR-HP-G300NH2":

http://www.buffalotech.com/support-and-downloads/downloads

 

The latest DD-WRT firmware for WZR-HP-G300NH2 is Ver.v24sp2-19154:

http://www.buffalotech.com/support-and-downloads/download/wzrhpg300nh2-pro-v24sp2-19154-download.zip


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #7 on: October 23, 2012, 06:34:16 pm »

Well, for every other router model they have supported as "no" instead of just unlisted as far as I can tell. This wouldn't have been an issue if the wireless security was working in the first place, though. Hopefully the DD-WRT website eventually adds the model unless G300NH is the same as this model...


bt4wang

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #8 on: October 25, 2012, 08:04:26 pm »

The latest stable and test firmware for this router could be found at dd-wrt's ftp server:

ftp://ftp.dd-wrt.com/others/eko/BrainSlayer-V24-preSP2/2012/

but not in the router database, don't know why. You can compare the firmware for NH and NH2 from this server, they didn't seem to be the same thing.

 

btw, did tftp flashing fix this problem?


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #9 on: October 25, 2012, 11:43:06 pm »

I read that there's 2 firmwares DD-WRT supports. Not sure which I'm supposed to use, and I felt it risky to try a latest build over a recommended.

I bought the NH and not NH2. Since DD-WRT doesn't even list NH2 I assume they are the same thing.

Product I bought http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833162031

 

TFTP flashing did not work, at least as far as I tried. Can't be positive I set everything up correctly. I assume this is part of my attempt #5 in the first post.

1. I set up my IPv4 IP/gateway/subnet in the picture above.

2. I typed the following into DOS under admin:

netsh interface ipv4 add neighbors 21 192.168.11.1 10-6F-3F-3D-7A-35

3. I pressed upgrade in the TFTP program (picture below) with the firmware file

4. Then I plugged in the router with my LAN in the router's blue port.

5. The tftp program never detected the router.

 


bt4wang

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #10 on: October 26, 2012, 12:52:18 am »

No matter what the B2C shows, the label on your router shows that it's definitely WZR-HP-G300NH2, so you should use DD-WRT firmware for WZR-HP-G300NH2 only (you can find it on buffalo's offical website). I've flashed a same router with firmware wzrhpg300nh2-pro-v24sp2-19154  downloaded from buffalo site.

 

You may try this:

 

1. Set you my IPv4 IP/gateway/subnet, you have already done this;

2. Run cmd, type this command: ping 192.168.11.1 /t;

3. Connect your computer's to the router's LAN port (you should got 4 black LAN port) with router's power unpluged;

4. Open tftp program, set server 192.168.11.1 and locate the firmware file;

5. Focus on the cmd window, and plug in the router' power, when cmd shows you got reply from 192.168.11.1, press Upgrade button on TFTP program.

6. If upgrade successful, just wait until the router finish reboot.


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #11 on: October 27, 2012, 04:06:43 pm »

Thanks for the support. I am getting a replacement from my warranty at the moment. It should be here sometime this week. I'm kind of suprised there isn't an admin or tech staff at least making rounds.

 

If I get the same issue I won't be using the DD-WRT from the website. Hopefully I don't have issues with wireless security again.  Probably won't be using this post for the new router.


Mcebisi

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #12 on: December 25, 2012, 01:06:24 am »

I have the same problem I've tried your solution but nothing happend the tftp says "unable to get responses from server' when I ping 192.168.11.1 i get this "packets sent = 4, received = 0, Lost = 0 (100% loss)'

 

what can I do? plz help


ffhighwind

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH2 bricked?
« Reply #13 on: December 28, 2012, 09:02:37 am »

Are you sure you have the exact same problem? You'd have to describe more. I never solved this issue... just found a list of potential solutions.

 

Read over these websites and see if you've done them.

1. http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Recover_from_a_Bad_Flash

2. http://thewichitacomputerguy.com/blog/unbrick-buffalo-wzr-hp-g300nh-router-solid-diag-and-endless-re...