Author Topic: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue  (Read 17866 times)

fbhenry

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2012, 05:13:35 pm »

In reply to spamminator:

 

Yes the wireless is stable, I haven't compared the builds systematically.  TX power is good, no drops.  


ballyn

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #16 on: November 09, 2012, 05:01:27 am »

Nope, wired to wired is still broken in 20119. Wireless performance was mediocre, around 10 Mb max throughput on a 130M tx/rx. I've gone back to 18024, which has great performance but drops out after some amount of use and needs to be rebooted.


moonbug

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #17 on: November 10, 2012, 10:55:58 am »

Users with wired to wired ping/connectivity issue, are you using rev A2A0


fbhenry

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #18 on: November 13, 2012, 02:55:04 pm »

Yes, mine is rev A2 A0


fbhenry

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #19 on: November 26, 2012, 01:25:04 pm »

Any further info on this revision number issue?  I mean is there a certain firmware that I ought to be using with that revision for wired LAN

connectivity?  Or is this a known issue with that revision number and *all* firmwares?  


moonbug

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #20 on: November 27, 2012, 08:09:00 pm »

Wired connectivity issue seems to affect rev A2A0, but it seems fine with B0 C0. Any other revsions?

 


lok

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #21 on: December 05, 2012, 12:43:03 pm »

Same problem here: A2 F0


TODD

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #22 on: December 06, 2012, 02:32:21 am »

moonbug      

Users with wired to wired ping/connectivity issue, are you using rev A2A0

 

And, mine is rev A2 A0.


aw

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #23 on: January 02, 2013, 11:04:49 am »

Using the references in the solution post, I logged in and tried the following:

 

swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1swconfig dev switch0 set apply
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 0
swconfig dev switch0 set apply

It appears to have actually fixed my issue with the wired connections not getting arp broadcast messages.  This is on the 19484 version of the software. Hopefully it works for you too. :)


meekers

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #24 on: January 03, 2013, 02:33:07 pm »

I spent a few hours looking at this issue too. It looks like by default build 19484 puts each port on its own separate vlan, at least for reivision A2 A0. (Run "swconfig dev switch0 show".)  You can either disable the vlan functionality entirely, or put them into a vlan that allows appropriate communication. As I was worried about the effect of disabling vlans entirely, I just put each port I needed into the preexisting vlan that allows communication with all ports:

 

swconfig dev switch0 port 3 set pvid 6swconfig dev switch0 port 2 set pvid 6swconfig dev switch0 port 1 set pvid 6swconfig dev switch0 port 0 set pvid 6

You can make these commands run at startup by going to Administration->Commands and choosing "Save Startup".


moonbug

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #25 on: January 04, 2013, 07:18:14 am »
Which solution post  were you refering to? Can you reference the url link?
what is vlan1 vs vlan0? 
I noticed that pvid 6 is port 5.
I noticed that vlan 6 shows ports: 0 1 2 3 4 5. Would swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 6 work as well?
 
If I had wanted port 0 and port 1 on its own vlan and port 3 and port 4 on its own vlan, how would i set it?
aw wrote:

Using the references in the solution post, I logged in and tried the following:

 

swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 1swconfig dev switch0 set apply
swconfig dev switch0 set enable_vlan 0
swconfig dev switch0 set apply

It appears to have actually fixed my issue with the wired connections not getting arp broadcast messages.  This is on the 19484 version of the software. Hopefully it works for you too. :)


 


meekers

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #26 on: January 04, 2013, 07:09:16 pm »

enable_vlan just controls whether or not any vlans are enabled. Setting it to 1 enables vlans, and setting it to 0 disables vlans. By disabling vlans entirely, you allow communication on all ports with no restrictions. vlan6 by default is used only for port 5. The commands I used change other ports to use vlan6.


moonbug

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH - build 19484 and ARP issue
« Reply #27 on: January 04, 2013, 10:33:59 pm »

Thanks meeker.

 

I check my settings and vlan 6 shows ports '012345'

 

If I had wanted port 0 and port 1 on its own vlan and port 3 and port 4 on its own vlan with internet connection, how would I set it?

Currently VLAN 1 shows Ports: '05', if I wanted port 2 added, do I set,

swconfig dev switch0 port 2 set pvid 1