Author Topic: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH  (Read 3253 times)

Xosted

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« on: February 17, 2012, 05:21:04 pm »

Hi,

 

I have tried to install DD-WRT on my WZR-HP-G300NH.

I tried v24-sp2 build 14896, V24-SP2 build 17798 as well as v24-sp2 build 14998. So far, only the version from DD-WRT has succeded but I have loads of Wifi drop outs.

This is what I get:

 

From Buffalo 1.76 or 1.65 to:

v24-sp2 build 14896 : works but with drop outs

V24-SP2 build 17798 : Bricked

v24-sp2 build 14998 : Bricked

 

From v24-sp2 build 14896 to :

V24-SP2 build 17798 : "Upgrade Failed" still working on v24-sp2 build 14896

v24-sp2 build 14998 : "Upgrade Failed" still working on v24-sp2 build 14896

Buffalo 1.65 : working.

 

Debrick: through the guide on this website http://g300nh.blogspot.com/2010/06/firmware-flash-and-brick-recovery.html and using only the Buffalo to DD-WRT firmware found on dd-wrt.

All the others are failing.

 

I followed the steps described in the packages and still I can not get the build 17798 or the build 14998 to work.

Any ideas why?


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2012, 04:25:02 pm »

Are you registered on the dd-wrt forum?


Xosted

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2012, 04:05:58 am »

euh... no.... but I guess it shouldn't be too hard to do...

what am I supposed to look for once there?


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2012, 09:22:00 am »

For this page..

 

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Buffalo_WZR-HP-G300NH#DD-WRT_on_Buffalo_WZR-HP-G300NH

 

Once you have regged/login with the forum you will be able to see attached files within the forum, in there is a revert to stock firmware file, it will re-flash your unit with the user friendly firmware, from there you should be able to install buffalo dd-wrt. And btw, if you use the revert file, it takes a long time to flash your unit back, sometimes 15 minutes or more, so be patient and leave it alone till it finishes.


Xosted

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2012, 11:11:38 am »

Hi,

 

Thank you for the answer. however, this is exactly the file that I used and the result is the same.

I tried to update from the Buffalo fw 1.65, 1.74, 1.76 and 1.79 to any of the two Buffalo DD-WRT FW and the device always ends up bricked.

From DD-WRT (non buffalo) the "upgrade failed".

 

still at the same point.

 

PS: just for info mine is a B0 B0


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2012, 01:32:24 pm »

You can use TFTP to switch back and forth between buffalo dd-wrt and community dd-wrt, read this whole post and do what it says and it should work just fine..

 

http://forums.buffalotech.com/t5/Wireless/I-need-help-to-debrick-my-WZR-HP-G300NH-please/td-p/91154

 

I am starting to think its not that it bricks as you say, you have to remember when going from community dd-wrt to buffalo stock or buffalo dd-wrt they use different IP subnets for access, the community dd-wrt is 192.168.1.1 and the buffalos are 192.168.11.1

 

You are making sure that after the flash you are switching to the proper subnet for access?

 

 


Xosted

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Cannot install Buffalo DD-WRT on a WZR-HP-G300NH
« Reply #6 on: February 21, 2012, 12:01:02 pm »

It seems that.... you were right!

The device was not bricked. It actually was working fine and possibly every time I tried the update.

The weird thing is that for some reason, the computer from which I was making the update couldn't access the Web UI anymore...

The subnet could be a reason but.... I was flashing from the Buffalo FW, which has the same subnet than the Buffalo DD-WRT...

 

The newest alpha version seems not to drop the wireless as much as before (for now... no drops in nearly 24 hours..).