Author Topic: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450  (Read 2494 times)

agustaf4

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« on: December 27, 2011, 04:51:41 pm »

With the latest ddrwt firmware all unbridged vlans fail to ping beyond the gateway which is the router. Anybody else with this issue that has found a solution. I have to revert back to the stock release of ddrwt that came with it for unbridge vlans to go through. thanks


douglasjboehme

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2011, 11:11:02 am »

The current release is an Alpha release.  It's possible it's having problems.  If you look on the forum, I noticed range issues with the WiFi with the current release as well and had to go back to stock.  I would use the OOTB firmware until a more stable release of DD-WRT is released.


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2011, 11:27:32 am »

More details of your setup and what you're trying to do?


agustaf4

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2011, 06:17:07 pm »

Following the same steps the how on these forums specify about creating a guest network. Works fine with the Firmware: DD-WRT v24SP2-MULTI (05/27/11) std , but with the latest alpha one, they can ping the gateway but cannot ping outside of that.


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2011, 06:50:45 pm »

Argg! Yes i have noted before about that guide, i don't know how it would even work..

 

You'd do better off to follow this guide.

 

http://www.dd-wrt.com/wiki/index.php/Multiple_WLANs

 

With that guide i know it works, as i currently use it.


agustaf4

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #5 on: December 28, 2011, 07:32:29 pm »

VLAN not WLAN. 


agustaf4

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #6 on: December 28, 2011, 07:34:06 pm »

I'm duplicating the same exact steps on the creating a guest network in the forum faq. Works fine with the stock firmware, but with the latest alpha, I cannot ping outside of the gateway.


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #7 on: December 28, 2011, 08:37:04 pm »

I am not to sure you know how to differ between the 2, in order to even create a guest wireless network which is what guide you keep referring to is about, you have to create multiple wireless access points or multiple wireless lans, and think about what i am saying here,  key word being wireless, VLANs is something different entirely, VLANs is 802.1q tagging and port based group switching, neither of which i think  you want in this case. You would do better off to follow the guide i posted link to.


agustaf4

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #8 on: December 28, 2011, 08:56:02 pm »

You create a separate vlan in the wireless tab and unbridge it. Give it an ip of lets say  10.8.11.1 255.255.255.0  that becomes ath0.1. You set up a dhcp for ath0.1. When you connect a wireless device to ath0.1 With the stock firmware on the device it works perfect. With the latest firmware alpha when you connect something to ath0.1 and it does grab an ip in that range, it pings the gateway which is 192.168.0.1 , but it does not go outside of that. With the previous firmware it works fine. Reason I do this is to create multiple wireless network segments and I'm able to keep them isolated and allow certain ip's to be accesses to through iptables. 


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2011, 03:02:50 pm »

Perhaps you need to manually create a route for it?


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2011, 06:36:15 pm »

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_LAN

 

You should read this, and then understand what VLANs are.


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #11 on: December 29, 2011, 08:34:28 pm »

He wants both, a second wireless SSID with a seperate network or VLAN.


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #12 on: December 30, 2011, 02:18:38 pm »

No. He wants another WLAN, not full 802.1Q tagging/trunking nor router port based functions, ok lets say the main AP is on 192.168.1.1 (br0) and you add a virtual wireless interface (br1), bridge br1 to a different subnet like say 192.168.2.1, this is just multiple wlans using one radio on the same interface.

 

With a VLAN setup, you'd unbridge one of the physical ports on a router, assign that port a different IP/subnet, plug in another wireless router that would be on this VLAN, add an 802.1Q tag/trunk to this new VLAN so it could pass traffic through to the internet on a whole new layer 2 control, which is not what i believe the OP wants here. And also to add, Atheros with dd-wrt doesn't support physical port mapping VLANs, so if port based group switching is what is needed here, you'd be outta luck...


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #13 on: December 30, 2011, 05:38:59 pm »

I'd still call it VLAN, since it's virtually a different LAN but yes, he doesn't want port based VLANs.


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: Issues with vlan in latest firmware for wzr-hp-gh450
« Reply #14 on: December 30, 2011, 06:26:03 pm »

I'd say neither of you know what a VLAN is. :)