Author Topic: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N  (Read 2468 times)

akble

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« on: May 19, 2012, 10:13:03 am »

sorry but pretty much a novice but have been using the above router for several weeks now.  My laptop speeds on Speedtest run 16-18 mbps but the wired direct speed through the Buffalo falls to only 1.8 mbps or so.  If I wire cable modem direct to desktop and bypass Wireless router it jumps to around 18 - similar to wireless speed so computer seems to be ok. 

Is there setting or software upgrade I can do or am missing to get the speeds wired when routed through the Buffalo? 

thanks

Andy


mmmfreegoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2012, 09:39:20 pm »

I asked the same thing but I didn't get an answer

 

I assume I won't so I will contact customer services direct and let you know the result

 

I had a little search of these forums and I think this is a known problem. Its not altogether clear if its fixable, if it isn't then thats disgraceful behavior and false advertising on Buffalo's part.

 

If it is fixable then there should be a sticky with instructions made available

 

I get an average 90mb/s when connected directly

 

as soon as i go through this router it drops to 40

 

unacceptable


AmshTemp

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2012, 08:38:30 am »

@ akble & mmmfreegoo

 

Did you try the latest firmware V24-SP2 build 19152 ?

http://www.buffalotech.com/support/getfile/whrhpg300n-pro-v24sp2-19152-download.zip

 

Buffalo has introduced a better Ethernet driver for that router in their very latest firmwares.

 

BTW, you can update to that fimware from the router web interface


mmmfreegoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2012, 09:19:12 am »

thanks, but I have to change to ddwrt first? It says invalid firmware when I try to update


AmshTemp

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2012, 09:41:06 am »

Do you have an european router?

This firmware is for Americans, That could be the reason.

 

Don't worry though, I have that exact American firmware flashed in my European router.

But you have to do it via TFTP.

 

 

 


mmmfreegoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2012, 12:17:34 am »

thanks, but do you have a link to a tutorial? I do not know what you mean by via TFTP, or what the process is.


AmshTemp

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2012, 03:25:55 pm »

Firstly, although the latest US firmware was working just fine for me, I take no responsibility if something wrong happens to your router. I don't work for Buffalo.

I'm just like you, I came here for help but, unlike you, no one helped me :) .

 

Assuming you are running Windows 7:

 

1- You have to be wired, and plugged to one of the four Ethernet ports (black). WAN port (blue) & Wireless won't work here.

 

2- Fully disable Windows firewall, or whatever firewall you are using.

 

3- Give your Ethernet network adapter an IPv4 static address by going to the adapter properties:

(IP: 192.168.11.2) & (Mask: 255.255.255.0) & (Gateway: 192.168.11.1) 

 

4- Get the index number of your Ethernet network adapter by running:

route print

 Then, in "Interface List", in the far left you will find the INDEX number and In the far right the adapter name.

Get the INDEX number corresponding to your Ethernet adapter. (Mine is 11 for example, yours will be different)

 

5-Make the router MAC address static and map it to router IP address.

Replace __INDEX__ in the following command with the one you found from the previous command.

(Please Run the command line as an admin: Click Start, write "cmd" in the search field, Right-Click on "cmd.exe", then choose "Run as administrator")

netsh interface ipv4 add neighbors __INDEX__ 192.168.11.1 02-AA-BB-CC-DD-1C

 

6- Disable "Media Sensing" feature:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/239924 (Info and howtos about this feature)

http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=9742317 (Direct installer link to do it for you)

 

7- Enable TFTP client in Windows by clicking Start, and typing "OptionalFeature", without quote, in the search field.

 

8- Reset router settings.

 

9- Now make the following command ready, DON'T press enter now.... WAIT:

TFTP -i 192.168.11.1 Put "The-full-path-of-your-downloaded-firmware-with-quote"

 

10- Unplug the Power....

 

11- Plug in the power and start counting to 8 seconds then immediately press Enter in that previous TFTP command.

 

12- Diag will be flashing for a few seconds, the router will reboot.

 

 


mmmfreegoo

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2012, 01:20:41 am »

thank you so much for your detailed walk through. I have the WZR model which I bought in South Korea, however, the plugs (and power) system here is the same as european.

 

I will do a bit more research and make a decision as to whether I should take the risk

 

many thanks again :)


AmshTemp

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2012, 10:33:32 am »

Be careful mmmfreegoo

The firmware I posted is for WHR models, NOT for WZR.


porn_bdxxx

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: wired speed to Desktop - WHR-HP-G300N
« Reply #9 on: May 28, 2012, 04:58:53 am »

I already tried it.    @ AmshTemp