Author Topic: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN  (Read 8373 times)

webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« on: October 26, 2010, 07:31:50 pm »

I'm trying to connect WZR-HP-G300NH as WDS AP and WHR-HP-GN as WDS Station, both using the latest dd-wrt build 14998 firmware.

 

The WDS Station is only for wired clients and doesn't neet to act as an wireless AP. SSID, Encryption, Key, and Channel are identical on both routers. WDS communication is established between the WDS Station and the WDS AP.  All wired clients on WDS Station are successfully connected on the network and have internet access.

 

The problem is that connection only goes one way, from WDS Station to WDS AP. Any computer connected (either wired or wireless) to the WDS AP router cannot see anything connected to the WDS Station (including the WDS Station router itself). But if I telnet into the WDS AP router, I can ping WDS Station router and some, but not all, clients wired to it. Very odd.

 

Checking the syslog of both routers, I can see the WDS connection:

 

The WDS AP log:

Oct 26 14:47:20 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:a5:15:11:2e IEEE 802.11: associated
Oct 26 14:47:21 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:a5:15:11:2e RADIUS: starting accounting session 4CC6E9F7-00000002
Oct 26 14:47:21 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:a5:15:11:2e WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Oct 26 14:47:22 Base user.warn kernel: Adding WDS entry for 00:32:f1:b6:ae:1c, through ni=00:24:a5:15:11:2e

 

The WDS Station log:

Oct 26 14:47:22 Downstairs user.warn kernel: [ 1089.610000] Adding WDS entry for 00:32:f1:b6:ae:1c, through ni=00:24:a5:dd:d2:ee

 

I've reflashed firmware, gone over the settings many times and cannot see where the problem comes from.  Called tech support twice and was told twice that I had a defective router. Replaced the router twice and always have the same problem. Has anyone WDS paired these two routers with success? A known firmware issue? Some stupid user error? Been at this for a few weeks and always end up in this same frustrating place. Help please.

 

 


sdon1011

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2010, 12:09:41 pm »

I have exactly the same 'feature' (see my post in this forum). I think the ARP requests are not propagated from the WDS AP to the WDS station. You can check it by issuing an 'arp -a' on the WDS AP: you won't be able to ping machines not present in this ARP table.

Because most of my computers have a fixed IP in my internal network, I added the ARP commands directly in the startup script of the WDS AP: something like 'arp -s <ip> <mac-address>

 

Stéphane

 


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2010, 05:56:49 pm »

Thanks for the reply Stéphane. Unfortunately adding the arp commands on WDS AP (or the WDS Station or both) didn't work for me. I actually have to add arp entries directly on each computer connected to WDS AP that point to the WDS Station and computers/printers wired to it. So for now this workaround seems to work but it's pretty ugly. Seems like a huge bug.

 

Buffalo tech support - can you confirm that this is a bug and log a bug report please? I'm happy to give any additional information if needed.

 


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2010, 12:14:51 am »

Well, that workaround was short lived. Router now keeps dropping off the network. Ugh.


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2010, 11:04:24 am »

I found that TKIP was my problem with connection between the two routers. I've switched from WPA2 Personal Mixed TKIP+AES to WPA2 Personal AES. Now both routers and all machines see each other without having to mess with the ARP tables. Sadly I'm still having other problems with the WDS Station dropping off the network about every hour. WDS watchdog will reboot it every time it drops but every hour is a little excessive. Now I'm on to trying different channels to see if that helps. Here's what my syslog looks like just before and after the reboot (this is at 5:00 am so network traffic is virtually non-existent):

 

Nov  2 04:52:18 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Nov  2 04:52:18 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: associated
Nov  2 04:52:19 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a RADIUS: starting accounting session 4CCE9655-0000007D
Nov  2 04:52:19 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)
Nov  2 04:54:22 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Nov  2 04:54:22 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: associated
Nov  2 04:54:22 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a RADIUS: starting accounting session 4CCE9655-0000007E
Nov  2 04:54:22 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)

Nov  2 04:59:39 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: disassociated
Nov  2 04:59:39 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a IEEE 802.11: associated
Nov  2 04:59:40 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a RADIUS: starting accounting session 4CCE9655-0000007F
Nov  2 04:59:40 Base daemon.info hostapd: ath0: STA 00:24:11:d3:00:3a WPA: pairwise key handshake completed (RSN)

 

 

Anyone have any idea why this is so difficult?


de2connect

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #5 on: November 15, 2010, 04:00:55 pm »

I am having the same problem. I have tried many different configurations and can't get past this problem.

 

I would say my WDS-AP and WDS-Station can remain connected for an hour or two before the station needs to be rebooted.

 

I have used both the DD-WRT firmware and Buffalo version of the DD-WRT and no difference.

 

I am not sure what else to try other than switching to different hardware. 

 

Has anybody solved this problem?

 

 


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #6 on: January 13, 2011, 06:22:57 pm »

Still no solution and Buffalo tech support is of no help whatsoever.

 

I logged this issue with them about 10 weeks ago and all I got was 1.)  try setting up without encryption 2.) try a different channel and 3.) revert back to stock firmware. It took 4 weeks to get those 3 suggestions. I did as they asked and sent back detailed responses. Finally I was told that the issue was being escalated and that was the last I heard from them (that was 6 weeks ago). Probably because I also wrote them to let them know what I think of their support.

 

So the problem still persists, my routers continues to lose connection multiple times a day and I wish I returned this cake when I could still get my money back. So much for having faith that a company will do right by its customers.


drmemory

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1147
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #7 on: January 14, 2011, 08:46:03 am »

Please send me your contact info, including name and contact phone and I'll have a level 3 tech contact you.

Use the subject of these posts as the email subject so I can identity you readily.

 

drmemory@buffalotech.com


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #8 on: January 24, 2011, 07:24:59 pm »

It's been 2 weeks since I sent you my contact info and I haven't heard from anyone since.

 

Webreg - sorry, I missed your email in my inbox. I'm setting up a call from upper level support, to call and assist with this.

I see in our support log that we suggested a replacement for your product, due to your unit being unstable. Please consider this as an option when we call.  drmemory


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #9 on: January 24, 2011, 08:19:25 pm »

Thats my main problem with WDS, since its not an 802.11 standard, its mainly determined through the chipset vendors themseleves IE if you go mixing routers to try to do WDS with, your gonna have a less likely success rate, if all of the units to do WDS are the same, its never been a problem, its just when i mix chips, then i have problems with it.


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #10 on: January 25, 2011, 11:34:02 am »

Yes that may be true but in this case both routers are Atheros, both are manufactured by Buffalo, both claim WDS support boldly on the packaging, and both use the same version of dd-wrt. So your would think that there wouldn't be any issues with the most basic of setups.

 

What I find most disturbing is their silence on the issue. If it is a known problem then come forward and admit to it with some indication of when a fix will be coming. If it is an isolated problem then work with me to identify if it's a bug, hardware problem, or setup issue. Either way will be fine but after 12 weeks, all I got was the most basic of 1st level support and the promise of escalation (twice now) followed by complete silence. This is unacceptable customer service.

 

Should be a few minutes before the call. The callback is next in line, when the assigned techf or your callback finishes his current call. The original tech stated he thought your unit was unstable and offered a replacement.

drmemory


buddee

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 547
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #11 on: January 25, 2011, 11:41:38 am »

Yes true but thing with that is like i said, i only have luck using the same chipset, the G300NH and GN use diff chip sets, yes sure atheros based but the g300nh uses an Atheros AR9132 and the GN uses a Atheros AR7240, i could see more success rate with perhaps a GN and a whr-hp-g300n as they use the same set, but the g300nh uses more up to date atheros chipset (the 9k series) where the other 2 use the 7x xspan series.

 

Most times i never  need any tech support, i am my tech support. lol


webreg

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: WDS connection problem between WZR-HP-G300NH and WHR-HP-GN
« Reply #12 on: January 25, 2011, 12:00:24 pm »

OK thanks I'll wait for the call. Re: the replacement, that was many months ago and rather than RMA, I replaced it at the store.