Author Topic: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem  (Read 6308 times)

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« on: February 27, 2009, 09:57:45 am »
   

Hello,

 

Help with this would be greatly appreciated before I pull my hair out.

 

I have a TS1000. I can access files, do everything just normal when browsing in Explorer.

 

I have Dreamweaver set up with all my sites stored on the NAS.

 

But all of the sudden, I am unable to open any files, delete files, or anthing from Dreamweaver.

 

I get an error that tells me "A sharing violation has occurred accessing (filename)

 

If I move the site folder to my PC, files open just fine. Its only when I access files from dreamweaver that are on the drive.

 

Any thoughts?


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2009, 10:01:31 am »
   Which version of dream weaver are you using? The Macromedia version, cs3 or cs4? Also when Dreamweaver is booting up can you write down the version number?

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2009, 10:09:06 am »
   

Cs3, Version 9, build 3481

 

It worked before. I haven't had any updates either.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2009, 10:13:48 am »
   Also, forgot to mention this, whats the full model number of the unit? Most likely it just needs to be reset through the interface. You also might want to try a static ip address on the unit.

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2009, 10:26:01 am »
   

The full model is Link Station 1000, i think igoofed when I said TS.

 

ITs a Buffalo Linkstation, one terrabyte Network Drive. LS 1000 GL is whats on the bottom

 

I have already reset factory defaults. I have a linksys router that is giving the device a ip of 192.167.1.101


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2009, 10:39:34 am »
   What firmware version are you running?

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2009, 10:42:20 am »
   

1.15

 

 


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2009, 10:44:41 am »
   Ok, I have access to dreamweaver cs3 and a linkstation pro so im going to set them up and see what I can come up with. Now when you say you restored it to factor defaults you went through  maintenance and initialization or did you just hold the reset button. Also any settings with dreamweaver that you think are important, go ahead and tell me so i can try to recreate it.

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2009, 10:54:18 am »
   

I've tried a hundred things in the last few days.

 

DW has been reinstlalled, so its at default.

LS has been set to default from the Browser Management. Also a red button reset, both were done yesterday.

 

I just tried to access using another computer on the network. I am able to access files except for xmls, and css.

 

I found lots of posts regarding Coldfustion and this problem, but I don't have cold fusion installed.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2009, 11:07:45 am »
   There should not be a difference in file types as its all done over the lan using samba. One thing you could try is to re flash the firmware on the unit. You can download that from the downloads section. Since you do have the latest firmware you would have to follow the force firmware procuder.  You can find that here or in the knoweldge base. Where the file names of the xmls and css recently changed? If the file names have any spaces or the names are really long that MIGHT be an issue. Also through dreamweaver do you have it set up do go through my network places or a mapped drive to the linkstation that youve set up? Also make sure that the linkstation is on the same work group as the machines.

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2009, 11:39:19 am »
   

the drive is mapped, M, one thing is strange....

 

 When I go to network places, I can see the drive, its connected.

When I go to manage sites in DW, and browse for the location ofthe root folder, the drive has an x over the icon. I can stil navigate to the folder, but the icon shows it as not connected.

The files haven't been changed. I even when to a site that I havne't touched in six months.

I think i already flashed the firmware, im trying it again now.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2009, 11:42:32 am »
   You might want to try remapping the drive as well. Also if theres an option to make a new connection or change were the files are hosted through dreamweaver try that as well.

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2009, 11:49:20 am »
   

I just forced update.

 

And remapped drive from M to L

 

Opened DW, and refound site, same problem.

 

Tried to open a file and got a sharing violation.


Jotin

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 4201
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #13 on: February 27, 2009, 12:10:58 pm »
   I'm going to try and see if I can recreate the problem and I'll get back to your post as soon as I figure something out.

spindoc

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Dreamweaver/Sharing Violation problem
« Reply #14 on: February 27, 2009, 12:18:18 pm »
   

It was strange that I couldn't open xml files on the other computer but other files just fine.

 

I checked the properties on my share, it was set to read only?

 

I unchecked it, its going to take 30 minutes for it to apply to the whole folder.

 

Hopefully that works.

 

How in the heck would the readonly be enabled?