Author Topic: Simultaneous Dual Band and upgrading a home network  (Read 4184 times)

chuck441

• Calf
Simultaneous Dual Band and upgrading a home network
« on: September 02, 2010, 12:58:27 PM »

Hello all,

I am a computer tech, but the vast majority of my networking experience is hard wired networks, and small home or small office networks with no more than one wireless router.  But now I'm trying to resolve a problematic home network situation for a client that involves several access points.  Presently, he has two B****n F5D7231-4 2.4 GHz Wireless G Plus routers, with one of those acting as an access point.  They hook up to each other directly, with no intermediate wireless devices.  The internet source is Satellite.

In researching for a solution, I have started to favor Buffalo, but looking at the products leads me to some questions.  So I am wondering because I notice that the WLAE-AG300N Access Point/Bridge/Converter has dual band support (and is that simultaneous, or not? it doesn't say), and yet none of the Infiniti routers have dual band support listed.  So a few questions come up: First, would dual band support be of any use with a router that only transmits in the 2.4 GHz range? Second, does anyone know if the WLAE-AG300N dual band is simultaneous dual band, or selectable? Third, is Buffalo about to release a simultaneous dual band (SDB) router? To me, that would seem to be the best reason to make a dual band Access Point/Bridge in the first place.