Author Topic: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss  (Read 8585 times)

Dustrega

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 1394
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #15 on: August 07, 2010, 05:49:01 pm »

When a new firmware update is posted it will be posted.  The firmware is written by a 3rd party (DD-WRT) so we don't have control of when they're going to address the issues we submit.


Aessaya

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #16 on: November 15, 2010, 05:46:42 pm »

Hello, to avoid creating one more thread i've decided to post in this one.

 

Like OP, i'm also having packet loss problem with WHR-HP-G300N i've purchased two months or so ago.

 

It came preloaded with svn revision-14512 DD-WRT software. After being left to run for a day or so, it started to make a noticeable packet loss. I tried to do some research on the intertubes and found out that upgrading to the latest (14998) solved this problem in many cases. It did help, but it did not solve the problem completely. Now the packet loss problem occurs, but at noticeably longer intervals, it had worked for me for 8 days without any problem, and it has als occured on the second day. So far i haven't noticed any correlation between packet loss issue (it always starts suddenly and noticeably) and my network usage, although higher network usage usually causes the problem to occur faster. I will try to switch to user-friendly firmware, but the main reason why i bought this one particular router was because of the DD-WRT software and it's abilities.

The packet loss occurs on all outside traffic, irrelevantly of the site i'm pinging, and it occurs directly after the router and ceases immediately after i reboot it (either by plugging it off and on by pulling the power plug or via web-interface "reboot" button) and usually is at 25-35% all across the path in traceroute diagram (using PingPlotter free version). Also replacing with my old router (which has its own problems, but packet loss isn't one of them) immediately solves the problem too.

 

I'd like to know, whether buffalo's (and/or DD-WRT's) developers are aware of this problem and whether they are doing something to fix this issue?

 

Thank you in advance.


samstadt

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #17 on: November 18, 2010, 08:23:59 pm »

 

I was able to fix this by changing the IP filter settings on the Admin Tab to:

 

  • Maximum Ports: 4096
  • TCP Timeout: 120 sec
  • UDP Timeout: 120 sec

No more packet loss!

 

 


quinby

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #18 on: December 19, 2010, 08:08:08 am »

I'm giving this a shot, too.

 

I was hitting 30-40% packet loss after about a week through my G300N (running the dd-wrt 14998 build) and was absolutely convinced that the issue was with Comcast until I tried a direct connection. Wireless and ethernet connections were equally hosed until I rebooted the buffalo, something I should have tried first.

 

In any case, I set a weekly scheduled reboot for the wee hours of Sunday morning to see if I can't keep it at bay. I'll go daily if I have to.

 

I gave the user-friendly FW (1.81) a shot, but a) couldn't pull off some of the port-forwarding/NAT loopback I need and b) couldn't figure out a way to configure wireless-N correctly. All the settings I tried consistently showed 54M/s with inssider. As soon as I put dd-wrt back on, boom, 1 channel + extension channel, just like I want. Very odd.The dd-wrt UI is a hell of a lot cleaner, too, though I much prefer the level of logging in the user-friendly version.

 


PHJF

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #19 on: December 23, 2010, 08:58:59 pm »

OK, I've had timeouts when pinging yahoo and google while using this router.  It hasn't really affected my PC gaming much (if at all), so I've ignored it.  But I recently started playing MAG on PS3 and it's been giving me huge issues with disconnects.

 

I have the router running in wifi-N, 20GHz, and channel was set to "auto".  After changing the channel to a randomly-chosen number (7), I no longer have timeouts when pinging IPs.  I don't even USE the wifi (it's there for my sister's laptop), but changing the wifi broadcast channel to static FIXED my timeouts on wired connections.  How odd.


ping www.yahoo.com -t

Pinging any-fp.wa1.b.yahoo.com [67.195.160.76] with 32 bytes of data:
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=44ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=54ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=43ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=46ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=41ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=38ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=54
Reply from 67.195.160.76: bytes=32 time=40ms TTL=54


quinby

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #20 on: December 28, 2010, 08:14:42 pm »

For whatever it's worth, I'm switching back to the user-friendly FW (1.82) for awhile. The oddball packet loss stuff was happening again on a more or less random basis with the 14998 build, and I got tired of having to power cycle the thing to clear it up. I managed to get the port forwarding/NAT stuff working as I need it to (NAT loopback turned out not to be a hard and fast requirement), PPTP is functioning and I'm finally seeing 300Mb/s wireless speeds.

 

I like the dd-wrt UI, plus a few of the management tools, but as a home-office worker, I have to have a rock-solid connection. As I mentioned, I prefer the logging of the usr-friendly stuff anyway. I'll give UF a run for a couple of weeks and see how it goes.


asystejs

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2010, 10:03:30 am »

I was watching something similar here on a WHR-HP-GN  (DD-WRT 14998)
The channel was constantly changing and the clients were getting disconnected.


limpacific

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #22 on: January 13, 2011, 09:38:37 pm »

Hi Qinby,

 

Just curious... how is your experience with the UF 1.82 firmware on the WRH-HP-G300N?  I have the stock V24-SP2 build 14998 firmware and feel that wireless access is somewhat slow and has a low signal strength.

 

Thank you in advance for your reply.

 

Jon


quinby

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #23 on: January 20, 2011, 10:09:45 am »

Jon -

 

Sorry for the delay. My experience has been just fine. The connection to my ISP has been rock-solid, and am consistently getting 300M/s wireless speeds. The only issue I've run into is that, occasionally, various devices (my iPad) need to manually reconnect/reauthenticate with the password. I've adjusted the wireless encryption settings a little bit to see if that makes a difference. Otherwise, it's been great. I might be willing to give the dd-wrt build another shot, but not anytime soon and certainly not until/unless I see feedback that the performance issues have been ironed out. YMMV, of course, but I've been been happy with the UF firmware.


sourceminer

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #24 on: March 01, 2011, 03:40:06 pm »

Something is seriously wrong with these devices/firmware. I purchased 4 of these units.. All 4 of them exibit the same problem as described. 

Spent over 8 hours on the phone with support, purchased a spectrum analyzer and found nothing to cause an issue with wireless channels.

 

Even tried to remidy using this thread:

http://forums.buffalotech.com/t5/Solved-Wireless-Threads/Buffalo-WHR-HP-G300N-DD-WRT-Packet-Loss-Sol...

 

This did not solve the issue either.

Here is what I have found.

 

When I do a factory reset the unit works perfect.

However this is less than satisfactory as this has DHCP enabled and is setup with the wrong Subnet than my network.

I simply want to make this a wireless access point. 

 

  1. So I disable the WAN connection
  2. Assign WAN Port to Switch
  3. Re-IP the Lan side to match my network.
  4. Disable DHCP
  5. Setup Wifi SSID, and using WPA Personal TKIP
This works however my pings to the Gateway start to have 500-700ms response times!! and lots of packet loss.
With the defaults I see an average of 7ms.
Trying to downgrade to the actual buffalo firmware vs DDWRT.

danep

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: WHR-HP-G300N +DD-WRT packet loss
« Reply #25 on: July 30, 2011, 10:19:14 pm »

I've also experienced severe packet loss with this router and the provided DD-WRT firmware (May 2011 build). Extremely disappointed. I've flashed the "user-friendly" firmware and I'm hoping that helps.