Author Topic: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only  (Read 7295 times)

Craig21

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #15 on: August 26, 2009, 01:56:38 pm »
   I personally don't think it's an interference problem since the issue occurs every two days (DHCP lease time Coincidence). I think i would have had an issue with my previuos router (D-link gaming router) if it was an interference problem. My PC still shows connected (excellent signal strength) but when i ping the router i get a request timed out until i reboot it.

Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #16 on: August 26, 2009, 05:41:35 pm »
   Check that DHCP is allowed to give out plenty of addresses, default is 64 I think.

Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #17 on: August 26, 2009, 07:27:14 pm »
   

Mine is at 64.

 

In other threads it keeps getting mentioned that the SSID should be all lowercase.  Could that be related?  Mine has the first letter as a cap.


Aveyer

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 501
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #18 on: August 26, 2009, 09:48:42 pm »
   I don't have the WZR-HP-G300NH but the WHR-G300N and I have some uppercase letters in the SSID of that without trouble. The firmware is similar.

Craig21

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #19 on: August 27, 2009, 07:22:11 am »
   I have uppercase letters in my SSID. That shouldn't make a difference. My DHCP is also set to give out up to 64 addresses.
Message Edited by Craig21 on 08-27-2009 07:22 AM

Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #20 on: August 30, 2009, 09:57:32 am »
   I've now gone far longer than 48 hours without issue (and was pretty sure I had before).  Seemingly it's not the renewal period, and as noted before, sometimes the problem would correct on it's own.

Craig21

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #21 on: August 31, 2009, 08:30:29 am »
   

Goodspike,

So you resolved your issue by changing the channel to 11?


Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #22 on: August 31, 2009, 10:58:03 am »
   I hadn't thought of that being a fix.  Maybe, but I think it's too early to tell.  If I go a week, then maybe.  If I go two weeks, then almost certainly.

PCPiranha

  • Big Bull
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #23 on: August 31, 2009, 08:14:08 pm »

"I hadn't thought of that being a fix"

 

Changing the wireless channel was mentioned a few times in this thread.


Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #24 on: August 31, 2009, 10:15:54 pm »
   

Well, the channel wasn't a fix.  It did it again today.

 

I tried going into DHCP and renewing, and that didn't work (no error messages, just didn't work).

I tired going into setup and check connection, and everything indicated OK, but it didn't fix the issue.

 

I don't know if it's just coincidence, what it did start going again after I changed in Admin to Pacific Standard Time.  (Question:  Does changing the time also reboot the router?)

 

In the diagnosic logs what it's showing is the wireless computer sending repeated requests, the router sending repeated offers, but no ACK going back like it did when it did connect.  I don't know what any of that means, but I thought I'd report it.

 

Message Edited by Goodspike on 08-31-2009 10:17 PM

cyberstupid

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #25 on: September 01, 2009, 01:53:59 pm »
   

the problem is here

http://forums.buffalotech.com/buffalo/board/message?board.id=0102&message.id=1711&query.id=32065#M1711

 

right now all you can do is "restart the router"

I'm doing it everynight before I'm going to sleep.

if the next firmware won't fix it, I will switch back to my old linksys wrt54gs

Message Edited by cyberstupid on 09-01-2009 01:54 PM

aaur4man

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #26 on: September 03, 2009, 11:16:29 am »
   try it without wpa2

Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #27 on: September 03, 2009, 08:48:30 pm »
   I'm not using WPA2.

Goodspike

  • Calf
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: WZR-HP-G300NH Periodically Loses Internet over Wireless Only
« Reply #28 on: September 07, 2009, 01:11:20 am »
   

I know Craig said he's using XP with the same results, but I'm saving this link posted in another thread for future reference, given the experience I reported with the daughter's XP machine.

 

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/928233